• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

a different take on Moradin, and dwarven religion in general

Imperialus

Explorer
So I just started playing a dwarven fighter/cleric in a 2nd ed campaign so I decided to write up some thoughts on how dwarves might view religion. I wanted to do something to make it distinct from the other D&D deities but keep it well grounded in something that 'works' for D&D. The closest real life approximation would probably be Shinto, a religion that isn't. Rather it's a system of beliefs and traditions that have been around for so long that they've become so deeply ingrained in the culture that there is no divorcing them. It's not that religion runs society, rather that society is religion, a philosophy that seems to work very well for Dwarves, or at least my interpretation of them.

It is also an attempt to come up with an internal logic for why a Lawful (with a capital L) dwarf could avoid becoming Lawful Stupid.

“What’s Moradin? Well to be a dwarf is to be Moradin, and to be Moradin is to be a dwarf… Trying to explain it any more than that is like trying to describe the colour of gold to a blind man. You both get frustrated, and accomplish nothing other than ending up a few hours older.” Gerrath Deep-Law Dwarven priest speaking to the high theurge of Pelor.