A question about a mounted charge.

Lord Pendragon said:
FireLance, wasn't there a rule that said a rider could take a single melee attack at any point in the mount's movement? Would this not suggest that the rider could take his charge attack earlier in his mount's movement for a charge? Or was this in reference to something else, like double-moving?
Really sorry, but I may have to revise my opinion of allowing the rider and mount to benefit from a charge if they have different reach. Reading through the section on mounted combat, I came across a line which says, "If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with the charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge."

A strict interpretation of the above rule means that a rider will not gain the benefit of the charge if his attack was not made at the end of the charge, as will be the case if he and his mount have different reach. Unless, of course, the rider has Ride-by Attack, which allows him to charge, attack, and continue charging. I would still allow a rider without Ride-by Attack to attack from the back of a charging mount, but he will not gain the benefit of the charge (no bonus to attack roll, no doubled lance damage) even though he still takes the AC penalty.

As for making an attack while the mount is moving, it is a personal ruling of mine, not an official rule. I would allow a rider to move towards an opponent, attack, and ride away from his opponent (in any direction, including straight back). Essentially his mount takes a double move (or less) and he takes a single attack action at any point of his mount's move. However, unlike Ride-by Attack, it is a normal attack, not a charge, and the rider and mount provoke AOOs for movement normally from the opponent.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

FireLance said:
Really sorry, but I may have to revise my opinion of allowing the rider and mount to benefit from a charge if they have different reach.
No worries. I'm trying to figure out how it works, not pull one over on my DM. :p
Reading through the section on mounted combat, I came across a line which says, "If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with the charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge."

A strict interpretation of the above rule means that a rider will not gain the benefit of the charge if his attack was not made at the end of the charge, as will be the case if he and his mount have different reach.
Interesting. You don't think this refers to those who fail the ride check to attack when the mount does, (and thus are unable to make an attack)?

I guess it just seems odd to me that the rules were meant to preclude mount and rider attacking together, though I can see now how the rules could be read that way.
 

Remove ads

Top