Thanee said:
Just for clarification...
So, if you have a 10 Strength and wear gauntlets of ogre power +2 and get 10 points of Strength drained, you fall down paralysed, right?
I'd need to reread the FAQ answer, but from memory, that wasn't what it was saying. If you have 10 Str, wear gauntlets +2, and get 10 points of Str drained, your Str score is still 2... so the zero clause doesn't kick in. But if you then take the gauntlets off, you'd be paralysed... and putting them back on would not revive you, since your Str
is zero now, and thus the gauntlets don't work.
I think the FAQ answer was attempting to address the problem brought about by the rule that no ability may ever fall
below zero. Without the FAQ's zero rule, if that person took
twelve points of Str drain, he'd fall down paralysed with zero Str. If someone then removed his gauntlets, he'd lose his +2 enhancement bonus... but since abilities can't fall below zero, he's left with zero Str. Putting the gauntlets back on him would then give a +2 enhancement bonus to his score of zero, for a total of two, and unparalysed.
If he gets drained again, you remove and replace his gauntlets again.
The FAQ's zero rule prevents this working.
-Hyp.