Animate object

Grishnak

First Post
Just a quick question regarding the said spell.

If the spell is cast upon an out cropping of rock would the rock break off and do as bidded by the caster or just be stuck as animated rock on the outcropping?

There was a small discussion last night regarding the spell and our dm said that it would stay on the outcropping and pretty much not work. Then it evolved into a micky take of the spell with myself saying forgot to pack my chair and table for the spell. The player who cast the spell then stated that spell was useless and would never again be learnt and used. There may be a few other pointers that the dm will add if he sees the thread to clear up some points.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

From the SRD
The character imbues inanimate objects with mobility and a semblance of life. The animated object, or objects, then attack whomever or whatever the character initially designates. The animated object can be of any nonmagical material. The character can also animate masses of raw matter as long as the volume of material does not exceed 1 cubic foot per caster level.
The spell cannot animate objects carried or worn by a creature

This does not state the mass of raw material is separated. The cliff could attack the rock face it was attached to, but that probably wouldn't be useful.

Animate Objects is more useful on items such as statues. Animating a wall in a narrow hallway is useful, as the wall can reach out and attack. Animating water is still useful. The best uses of this spell come when you are in a castle type setting.
 

I've always liked animating furniture (most is wood, so hardness 5). Nothing like a heavy oak table galloping towards a party to weird them out.

Also, it's pretty embarassing to admit that you got beaten up by a chair.
 

Good Points Azul and LokiDR !!!

I was actually in the same discussion last night, and agreed with the DM ruling primarily from past experience of playing 1st and 2nd edition DnD. The animate objects spell can work on fixed items but would not have the strengh enough to break away from it's parent if attached at a natural source. However, if said material was held weakly or if it was easily broken off then I would allow it to come free and act according to the spell. But generally I would say that this spell is meant for Statues, Furniture, Chests, Doors, and various other moveable objects, but not to rule out completely the "Rocky Outcropping" in that it would move as directed but would be limited by its attachment. I think that would be fair, what do all the ENWorlders think ? The situation described in last nights adventure, was using a Rocky Outcropping to fish someone out of a sewage dump and saveing them from drowning, unfortunately I think the aforementioned "Rocky Outcroppings" where not big or long enough to effect such a proceedure. However I could be wrong as I was not the DM at the time, merely an amused player as it was not I stuck in the sewage with advanced, corrupted Ottyughs beeting the crap out of me....hahahahahaha !!!!! Opions on how we could have gotten the said characters outta there would be welcome for future reference. The Monsters were defeated in the end with some very barve chareacters jumping in and holding breath and using Dark vision to attack the Ottyughs.
;)
 

Re: Good Points Azul and LokiDR !!!

Hackenslash said:

The situation described in last nights adventure, was using a Rocky Outcropping to fish someone out of a sewage dump and saveing them from drowning, unfortunately I think the aforementioned "Rocky Outcroppings" where not big or long enough to effect such a proceedure.

The description of Animate Objects states that the object "attack whomever or whatever the character initially designates". The objects are mindless, have no int score, and therefore probably couldn't lift a character. They only seem designed to run into and bash things.

It is a 6th level spell with a full round casting time, so changing the spell to allow for it wouldn't be outside the relm of power of the spell (like a summon monster), but that would be a house rule.
 

Remove ads

Top