• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

D&D 5E Animated How to Play D&D 5e tutorial

Rollforpotato

Villager
Hi all. I hope it's all right for me to promote my D&D 5e tutorial video here. It's targeted towards complete beginners and new players. Feel free to share it if you find it useful.

This is the latest video of the series (episode 2):
[video]https://youtu.be/yzFqbj8cIZY[/video]

This is the first episode (Intro)
[video]https://youtu.be/OoW2CDgztKY[/video]

While I'm here, I'll also ask a question to all you veteran players. I am sure that some of you have taught many more new players than I have. What do you think is the hardest concept for new players to grasp?

Chaosmancer

Legend
Hey man, always happy to see people willing to teach the game. I'll look over stuff and comment.

1st video: Perhaps too late for critiques, but woo boy. You threw a lot at someone who has never heard of the game before, and really talked about a lot of things I don't think you needed to to make the game make sense.

In my experience teaching new players, a lot of the flow of the game is incredibly confusing to them, until they see it in action. Once they rolled a few attacks they generally (though not always) figure it out. So talking about rolling the dice in combat, or Save DCs, even as briefly as you do, might be too much for people.

Good segue into the things I have found the hardest to deal with when teaching new people.