Another AoO question

Macleod

First Post
Hello everybody!

I apologize if this question has been answered before, but since the search function is only usable by paying members I can't find the answer.So here goes.

Situation(In D&D 3.5):

A fighter, without Improved Grapple, and a creature, without Combat Reflexes are within melee reach of one another.

The fighter, as a move action, drinks a Cure Light Wounds Potion, and provokes and receives succesful a AoO from the creature.

Afterwards, the fighter, as a standard action, tries to grapple the creature.

Does he provoke another AoO?

The core rules state that each creature without Combat Reflexes gets one AoO per turn.However this article has a feature about chains of AoO which has got me thinking.

So What do you think?

Thank a lot, in advance.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Situation(In D&D 3.5):

A fighter, without Improved Grapple, and a creature, without Combat Reflexes are within melee reach of one another.

The fighter, as a move action, drinks a Cure Light Wounds Potion, and provokes and receives succesful a AoO from the creature.

Afterwards, the fighter, as a standard action, tries to grapple the creature.

Does he provoke another AoO?

Unless the creature has the ability (as some do) of taking multiple Attacks of Opportunity in a round, the answer is a definitive no.

Also, this:

SRD said:
Drinking a potion or using an oil on an item of gear is a standard action.
 

Technically, the fighter does provoke, but there is nothing the creature can do to take advantage of it. Most likely, that is just a semantic difference but it's possible the creature has some ability that triggers when an enemy provokes an AoO even if it cannot/does not make an attack.

And as Persiflage said, it is a standard action to drink a potion unless the fighter has some ability to do so as a move equivalent.
 


The fighter, as a move action, retrieves a Cure Light Wounds Potion, and provokes and receives successful a AoO from the creature.
Actions In Combat :: d20srd.org

After that, the fighter, as a standard action, drinks a Cure Light Wounds Potion, and provokes another AoO from the creature. If the critter has combat reflexes and at least +1 dex modifier, it can take that AoO. If that AoO hits, the potion drinking action might be disrupted. :D
Potions And Oils :: d20srd.org

Afterward, the fighter, as an attack action, tries to grapple the creature, provoking an AoO. If the critter has combat reflexes and at least +2 dex modifier, it can take that AoO. If the critter's AoO deals damage, the grapple attempt is negated. :D
Special Attacks :: d20srd.org
 

After which, the fighter's player takes several Attacks of Irritation from his gaming groups who want him to stop being such a useless *sshole ;)

If the creature in question is a Hydra, the fighter is going to have a very bad day.

Short, but bad.
 

Remove ads

Top