Does Antimagic Field (either from a spell or spell like ability) interfere with line of effect or is it just solid barriers that stop line of effect?
Last session, I had a beholder fight the PCs from a distance and he was using his antimagic cone from his central eye. Now the PCs were just outside his cone reach (or could take a single move and get out of the range). Are the PCs able to cast a spell whose point of origin is on the other side of tbe Antimagic field such as Flamestrike or does it block the magic. We were pretty sure that it worked and that was how I ruled it but I would just like to be sure.
In addition, if someone shot a magical arrow at a beholder (again they are outside the range but must go through the cone to hit the beholder) would it lose it bonuses? Technically, the bow bestowed the magic on the arrow and I ruled that the pluses to hit still worked since the shot originated outside the cone but the pluses to damage were negated from the cone. This seemed to be the fairest way I could think of but is that the correct way for it to be done?
Thanks.
Last session, I had a beholder fight the PCs from a distance and he was using his antimagic cone from his central eye. Now the PCs were just outside his cone reach (or could take a single move and get out of the range). Are the PCs able to cast a spell whose point of origin is on the other side of tbe Antimagic field such as Flamestrike or does it block the magic. We were pretty sure that it worked and that was how I ruled it but I would just like to be sure.
In addition, if someone shot a magical arrow at a beholder (again they are outside the range but must go through the cone to hit the beholder) would it lose it bonuses? Technically, the bow bestowed the magic on the arrow and I ruled that the pluses to hit still worked since the shot originated outside the cone but the pluses to damage were negated from the cone. This seemed to be the fairest way I could think of but is that the correct way for it to be done?
Thanks.