Anyone know where in the rules it says enhancement bonuses on items are Su abilities?

dcollins said:
Sure you can -- that's exactly what "supressed" means when you cast dispel magic on something.
As I read it, the dispel magic spell can have two effects: 1) dispel an ongoing spell-like effect, or 2) suppress a magic item. You can have 2) without also causing 1).
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Caliban said:
What does "not subject to Spell Resistance" have to do with Dispel Magic?

Nothing.

But "Supernatural Abilities (including enhancement bonuses on magic weapons)" has something to do with "Supernatural abilities are not subject to Dispel Magic".

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Nothing.

But "Supernatural Abilities (including enhancement bonuses on magic weapons)" has something to do with "Supernatural abilities are not subject to Dispel Magic".

-Hyp.
That doesn't mean that enhancement bonuses are supernatural abilities. It simpley means that supernatural abilities and enhancement bonuses are not subject to Spell Resistance.

You don't have to check spell resistance when you whack someone with your magic sword. That's it.
 

Caliban said:
That doesn't mean that enhancement bonuses are supernatural abilities. It simpley means that supernatural abilities and enhancement bonuses are not subject to Spell Resistance.

Well, no - as written, it means that enhancement bonuses fall under the category of "extraordinary and supernatural abilities".

What you describe would be written "Extraordinary and supernatural abilities, and enhancement bonuses on magic weapons, are not subject to SR".

But "Ex and Su abilities (including enhancement bonuses)" means that... well, Ex and Su abilities include enhancement bonuses.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Well, no - as written, it means that enhancement bonuses fall under the category of "extraordinary and supernatural abilities".
I disagree, that's not what it says. But if you want to play it that way in your games, feel free.

The dispel magic description is pretty specific on this point "A suppressed magic sword is still a sword (masterwork sword, in fact)."

I'll go with that, rather than expanding a poorly worded explanation buried in the Spell Resistance description into something it's not.
 
Last edited:

Parsing the language of the statement most definitely says what Hyp says that it says. Of course, ever since 3.0, the glossary has been a poor place to look for rule answers.

Perhaps the question we should all be asking is "why do you need to know the type of the ability?" There are several possibilities:

1) For Dispel Magic purposes. IF this is what the qustion is about, then it doesn't matter what type of ablilities an item's bonuses are. You can still target the item per the description of Dispel Magic, threby suppressing it. However, the ablity granted is not a creature, spell effect, or item, and o it cannot be targetted. Thus you have to pick an item on your foe and hope that you get the right one.

2) Shapechange. When you shapechange, you lose your Su abilities. However, an enhancement bonus from an item isn't your ability. If the form you take can wear the item, then the item will impart that ability onto you still. If it can't wear it, you won't get it.

3) Something else?
 

Caliban said:
I'll go with that, rather than expanding a poorly worded explanation buried in the Spell Resistance description into something it's not.

Oh, I agree completely.

I think the SR sentence is wrong, because it states that enhancement bonuses are Ex or Su abilities.

But I do think that's what it says, even though I don't believe it's true.

Poorly worded indeed.

-Hyp.
 

hong said:
As I read it, the dispel magic spell can have two effects: 1) dispel an ongoing spell-like effect, or 2) suppress a magic item. You can have 2) without also causing 1).

I disagree. It's still dispel magic, and it's still described under the heading of a "Targeted Dispel". It's just that permanent items come back after a while.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top