AoO and Readied Actions (Rules Question)

dnabre

First Post
If I ready an action to attack somebody when they do an action which provokes an AoO, do I get both my readied attack and the AoO?

For example, I'm standing next to spell caster. I ready an action to attack him when he casts a spell. He starts casting, my readied action goes off and he provokes an AoO. Do I get two attacks?

My table ruling for this has been, only one attack. Just because you're ready for them to provoke the AoO you shouldn't get an extra attack in my opinion. I'm looking for rules to cover it though. Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

dnabre said:
If I ready an action to attack somebody when they do an action which provokes an AoO, do I get both my readied attack and the AoO?

For example, I'm standing next to spell caster. I ready an action to attack him when he casts a spell. He starts casting, my readied action goes off and he provokes an AoO. Do I get two attacks?
Yes.
 


dnabre said:
That's not very helpful.

Why? It answers your question. Yes, you get two attacks. One is a readied attack, and the other is an AoO. Both have a chance to disrupt his spellcasting, but the caster makes his Concentration check for each separately.

EDIT:

And, moreover, the readied action should happen "first."
 

As Patryn points out, the readied attack occurs first, possibly disrupting the spell. If the spell is disrupted, nothing else occurs (no AoO). If the spell is not disrupted, then casting the spell causes an AoO. Assuming you have an AoO to take, then you take it. There's no restriction about what you are currently doing that would cause you not to take an AoO. Remember that actions occur discretely in the combat system, so there is no concept of taking two attacks at the same time (which I can only assume is what you have a problem with).

As an another example, consider a wizard with a dagger in one hand and cast a full round spell (e.g. summon monster I). Someone comes up to him and trips him (without improved trip). Does the wizard get the AoO despite the fact that he is casting a spell?
 

Infiniti2000 said:
As Patryn points out, the readied attack occurs first, possibly disrupting the spell. If the spell is disrupted, nothing else occurs (no AoO). If the spell is not disrupted, then casting the spell causes an AoO. Assuming you have an AoO to take, then you take it. There's no restriction about what you are currently doing that would cause you not to take an AoO. Remember that actions occur discretely in the combat system, so there is no concept of taking two attacks at the same time (which I can only assume is what you have a problem with) .

That's what I thought the rules would be for it.

Just doesn't make sense to me. You're getting the AoO because the casting (or whatever action) leaves you vulnerable for a moment, if you happen to be attacking them anyway when they become vulnerable, it shouldn't be any worse. A bonus to-hit might be in order, but two attacks seems excessive.

Infiniti2000 said:
As an another example, consider a wizard with a dagger in one hand and cast a full round spell (e.g. summon monster I). Someone comes up to him and trips him (without improved trip). Does the wizard get the AoO despite the fact that he is casting a spell?

I'd say that the wizard could take the AoO with an appropriate concentration check (DC 15 + spell level), failure lets causes him to lose the spell. No idea what the rules say about it though.
 

Infiniti2000 said:
As Patryn points out, the readied attack occurs first, possibly disrupting the spell. If the spell is disrupted, nothing else occurs (no AoO).

Actually, no. He still provokes the AoO - just like, if there were two enemies threatening, and the AoO from the first successfully disrupted the spell, the second still gets to swing.

As an another example, consider a wizard with a dagger in one hand and cast a full round spell (e.g. summon monster I). Someone comes up to him and trips him (without improved trip). Does the wizard get the AoO despite the fact that he is casting a spell?

Unless you no longer threaten while casting a spell, or attacking causes you to lose concentration, then he may still take the AoO.

SRD said:
A spell that takes 1 round to cast is a full-round action. It comes into effect just before the beginning of your turn in the round after you began casting the spell. You then act normally after the spell is completed.

A spell that takes 1 minute to cast comes into effect just before your turn 1 minute later (and for each of those 10 rounds, you are casting a spell as a full-round action, just as noted above for 1- round casting times). These actions must be consecutive and uninterrupted, or the spell automatically fails.

When you begin a spell that takes 1 round or longer to cast, you must continue the concentration from the current round to just before your turn in the next round (at least). If you lose concentration before the casting is complete, you lose the spell.
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
Unless you no longer threaten while casting a spell, or attacking causes you to lose concentration, then he may still take the AoO.
I certainly think he's capable of taking the AoO. I think it's just a question of whether he can take it without losing his spell.
 

I'd say he doesnt lose the spell.

Ok let's put this in logics. A caster begins to cast a spell. He starts to chant, throw darts dance whatever. At the very beginning of this action, before a spell even happens the attacker takes his readied action. NO spell has even begun to be cast yet as the caster was just preparing.
Attack 1.

Now the caster casts the spell, he is vunerable now that he is in the midst of a spell and he gets an attack of opporrtunitiy on him.
 

dnabre said:
Just doesn't make sense to me. You're getting the AoO because the casting (or whatever action) leaves you vulnerable for a moment, if you happen to be attacking them anyway when they become vulnerable, it shouldn't be any worse. A bonus to-hit might be in order, but two attacks seems excessive.
The main point of readying an action is take your attack at a later time. If you do not let your player take the readied attack as allowed in the rules, you have effectively cancelled his turn, and that would be unfair (he could've instead just delayed, or taken his normal attack).

If you are concerned that readying an attack can be particularly good at causing a spell-caster to lose his spell, that is as designed. However, a caster can easily avoid AoO's by casting defensively, or just taking a step back. In the scenario you presented, these tactics could entirely void the characters readied action (while still following the rules).

At worst, the spellcaster could take a regular move before casting (still provokes, but no risk of losing his spell during the AoO).
 

Remove ads

Top