AoO and Readied Actions (Rules Question)

mvincent said:
The main point of readying an action is take your attack at a later time. If you do not let your player take the readied attack as allowed in the rules, you have effectively cancelled his turn, and that would be unfair (he could've instead just delayed, or taken his normal attack).

If you are concerned that readying an attack can be particularly good at causing a spell-caster to lose his spell, that is as designed. However, a caster can easily avoid AoO's by casting defensively, or just taking a step back. In the scenario you presented, these tactics could entirely void the characters readied action (while still following the rules).

At worst, the spellcaster could take a regular move before casting (still provokes, but no risk of losing his spell during the AoO).

Spellcasting is just an example of AoO causing action, I'm not concerned with it in particular.

I don't want the character to lose his action. I just don't want the character to able to use their action to get effectively double AoO on someone. Sometimes taking an AoO to get in a better tactical position or to get something accomplished is worthwhile. Using the readied action makes this less of an option, beyond it just not making any sense. The idea of reading an action to attack when they provoke an AoO seems to defeat the entire point of AoOs.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

It's not a double AOO at all, I'm not sure why you see it that way. As was mentioned, on his turn, could not the character simply attack him (instead of readying an action), and then get an AOO in the caster's turn? That's two attacks on the caster, why is readying an action to attack the caster when he casts any different?

Yes, you get the added benefit of possibly interrupting the spell, but you get the negative of having fewer options. If the caster moves back, then you no longer get the attack you would have gotten if you had simply charged the caster.

I'm not sure how this defeats the idea of AOO's, which seems to be that the defender is distracted and therefor leaves an opening for an attacker.
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
Actually, no. He still provokes the AoO - just like, if there were two enemies threatening, and the AoO from the first successfully disrupted the spell, the second still gets to swing.
Good point. I concede. :)
Patryn of Elvenshae said:
Unless you no longer threaten while casting a spell, or attacking causes you to lose concentration, then he may still take the AoO.
That's the question. What's the answer? ;)
 

Arravis said:
As was mentioned, on his turn, could not the character simply attack him (instead of readying an action), and then get an AOO in the caster's turn? That's two attacks on the caster, why is readying an action to attack the caster when he casts any different?
Exactly. The player is merely taking the attack that is due to him. The AoO is supposed to be an "extra" attack.

Note that some weapons are intended to be used this way. Some reach weapons that can be readied against a charge can get a particularly damaging attack (when an opponent charges into range), then typically another attack shortly there-after as the opponent closes the last 5' feet (provoking an AoO).
 

There seems to be a bit of confusion on ready actions based on how they are resolved.

The ready action interrupts the triggering action. That means that the triggering action actually starts. It doesn't complete yet, but it starts.

The ready action gets resolved before the triggering action (i.e. casting a spell).

The AoO gets resolved before the triggering action.

Even if you knock the spellcaster unconscious with the Readied attack, you would still get the AoO after the Readied attack. The only time you would not get the AoO is if the Readied action prevents the AoO in some way (say you readied to Disintegrate the caster and he failed his save, hence, there is no spell caster there to AoO against).

Just because Readied Actions resolve before the action that triggered them and just because the inits get changed so that the Readying character acts next round before the other character on the same initiative does not mean that the triggering action does not start.
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
Unless you no longer threaten while casting a spell, or attacking causes you to lose concentration, then he may still take the AoO.

You no longer threaten while casting a spell.

Cast a Spell
A spell that takes 1 round to cast is a full-round action. It comes into effect just before the beginning of your turn in the round after you began casting the spell. You then act normally after the spell is completed.

A spell that takes 1 minute to cast comes into effect just before your turn 1 minute later (and for each of those 10 rounds, you are casting a spell as a full-round action). These actions must be consecutive and uninterrupted, or the spell automatically fails.

When you begin a spell that takes 1 round or longer to cast, you must continue the invocations, gestures, and concentration from one round to just before your turn in the next round (at least). If you lose concentration after starting the spell and before it is complete, you lose the spell.

You only provoke attacks of opportunity when you begin casting a spell, even though you might continue casting for at least one full round. While casting a spell, you don’t threaten any squares around you.


-Hyp.
 


KarinsDad said:
There seems to be a bit of confusion on ready actions based on how they are resolved.

The ready action interrupts the triggering action. That means that the triggering action actually starts. It doesn't complete yet, but it starts.

The ready action gets resolved before the triggering action (i.e. casting a spell).

The AoO gets resolved before the triggering action.

Even if you knock the spellcaster unconscious with the Readied attack, you would still get the AoO after the Readied attack. The only time you would not get the AoO is if the Readied action prevents the AoO in some way (say you readied to Disintegrate the caster and he failed his save, hence, there is no spell caster there to AoO against).

Just because Readied Actions resolve before the action that triggered them and just because the inits get changed so that the Readying character acts next round before the other character on the same initiative does not mean that the triggering action does not start.
The stat way of saying what I said.
 


DonTadow said:
I'd say he doesnt lose the spell.

Ok let's put this in logics. A caster begins to cast a spell. He starts to chant, throw darts dance whatever. At the very beginning of this action, before a spell even happens the attacker takes his readied action. NO spell has even begun to be cast yet as the caster was just preparing.
Attack 1.

Now the caster casts the spell, he is vunerable now that he is in the midst of a spell and he gets an attack of opporrtunitiy on him.

1) Let's not. See Crothian's quote.
2) The rules state that you can interrupt spellcasting with a readied attack. Go back and read them. There is specific text that is meant to refer to this.

The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character’s activities, you interrupt the other character.
 

Remove ads

Top