AoO and Smite Ability

Hi everyone. Quick question for you. During one of our recent games the paladin in the group was granted an AoO on a creature that moved through his adjacent space. He asked if he could utilize his Smite ability and I didn't see any restrictions for doing something like this in the core books. So can a PC utilize special abilities and feats in his AoO? So could a fighter utilize his Power Attack or other feats and could a paladin utilize Smite? Thanks in advance.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Power attack can normally only be chosen on your turn and then it stays in effect until just before your next turn (so all AoO have to keep the same power attack value).

This suggests to me that you can't choose to modify your power attack value at any intermediate time
 

Cyri'kazzen the Drow said:
Hi everyone. Quick question for you. During one of our recent games the paladin in the group was granted an AoO on a creature that moved through his adjacent space. He asked if he could utilize his Smite ability and I didn't see any restrictions for doing something like this in the core books. So can a PC utilize special abilities and feats in his AoO? So could a fighter utilize his Power Attack or other feats and could a paladin utilize Smite? Thanks in advance.

There's no problem with the Paladin using his Smite as an AoO, but I'm not sure if the Fighter could begin Power Attacking on an AoO. I believe he has to declare it on the first attack of the round, and it sticks until his next turn.
 

Technically there is nothing preventing characters from using Special Abilities that can be used as a free action or as an attack action on AoO's .

You can't user Power Attack as pointed out above.

Our group ruled that you cannot use special abilities, attack modes and/or feats on an AoO. This keeps the game simpler, faster and prevents abuse of the AoO mechanism and helps believability.
 

Philip said:
Technically there is nothing preventing characters from using Special Abilities that can be used as a free action or as an attack action on AoO's .
Except that a free action is still an action, and can only be taken on your turn.
 

UltimaGabe said:
There's no problem with the Paladin using his Smite as an AoO, but I'm not sure if the Fighter could begin Power Attacking on an AoO. I believe he has to declare it on the first attack of the round, and it sticks until his next turn.
Yes and if an AoO occurs in between it will be affected as well
 

One problem is that's it's not clearly defined exactly how Smite Evil is used.

It's a [Su] ability; [Su] abilities are standard actions unless specified otherwise.

The description for Smite Evil states "a paladin may attempt to smite evil with one normal melee attack".

This could mean:

a/ As a standard action ([Su] ability), the Paladin may activate his Smite Evil power; the bonuses will apply to his next melee attack (like DotF Divine Might, or a Feint, for example).

b/ As a standard action ([Su] ability), the Paladin may Smite Evil, which allows him to make a single melee attack (like Core Rules Sunder).

c/ The Paladin may declare (as a non-action) any melee attack to be a Smite, whether it be an attack action, charge action, full attack action, or AoO (like FAQ Sunder).

If you use c/, then the Paladin can Smite on an AoO. If you use a/, and the Paladin activated his Smite power with a standard action in the previous round, then AoO (as his next melee attack) will be a Smite. If you use b/, he cannot Smite on an AoO at all.

-Hyp.
 

Smite Evil is clearly not a standard action to activate by itself, it would be all but unless if it were. What I'm not clear about is what they refer to when they say: 'a normal melee attack.'

This could well mean that Smiting is a special attack action of its own.
 
Last edited:

AGGEMAM said:
Smite Evil is clearly not a standard action.
Clearly? That word, I do not think it means what you think it means. ;)


There is certainly at least a little opacity in that definition. It is certainly clear that a supernatural ability is a standard action unless stated otherwise. And it is certainly clear that Smite is a supernatural ability. Is it not clear that Smite "states otherwise".

I agree that Smite should not be a standard action, but there are many rules that I think should be other than as written. My take on this would be this:

as a standard action, "a paladin may attempt to smite evil with one normal melee attack"
 
Last edited:


Remove ads

Top