A recent E-discussion started like this:
Any other interpretations/opinions out there? Who (if anyone) is right?
As is my want.. (after pointing out that one only gets 1 AoO a round, excepting CR, which still does not equal an infinity loop) I answewred with flippant regard for the rules with my personal interpretation:Can you disarm a weapon from an attack of opportunity? I got into an argument about this, the DM said you could do this infinite amount of times as long as you don't have the feat for it. Like I attempt a trip attack but don't have improved trip, then the DM decides to sunder my weapon without having the feat. I go back with another trip and he makes a sunder... etc
A quick check on the FAQ later, and the opposite becomes true...I would rule that you cannot use an action that provokes an AoO as an AoO. Like an opponent running past you while you are unarmed, and lack the Improved UA Fighting feat. You UA strike will provoke an AoO, and therefore is not an AoO option...
Persoanlly, I dont agggrw with this... and I said so:Yes. An attack of opportunity is adjudicated just like any other attack, and it is subject to the same rules (including provoking additional attacks of opportunity). This can lead to odd situations where as the reason for the original action no longer exists. --/snippage/-- These attacks are performed in a ?Last In, First Out?
sequence. The last attack of opportunity declared is the first one resolved, with the remaining attacks resolved in reverse order of their declaration,
If your combat action provokes an AoO, you cannot use it as an AoO action. I'd justify this by saying that if you're not skilled enough to pull the move off with pinache on your own turn, how can you pull it off when a split-second oppotunity presents itself..
Any other interpretations/opinions out there? Who (if anyone) is right?