Are Conjurations Considered Creatures?


log in or register to remove this ad



Nope. Conjurations are never considered creatures.

Except when they are creatures. (Figurines of Wonderous Power.)

The Conjuration keyword does not inherently make anything a creature, but the possibility exists that a specific conjuration is a creature.

'Never' is highly inaccurate.
 

'Never' is highly inaccurate.
Actually, it's quite hard to be more accurate :)

Okay let's reformulate for the weird nitpickers: There is nothing in the definition of the conjuration keyword that would cause conjurations to be considered creatures.

In other words: No, conjurations are not considered creatures.
 

Actually, it's quite hard to be more accurate :)

When the statement is disproven by counter example, describing it as accurate is irrational.

Okay let's reformulate for the weird nitpickers: There is nothing in the definition of the conjuration keyword that would cause conjurations to be considered creatures.

In other words: No, conjurations are not considered creatures.

The two statements are different.

The first is correct. Being a conjuration does not make the effect a creature.

The second is incorrect. It would claim that being a conjuration makes it not a creature. In fact, the Conjuration keyword even carries with it the mention that it could be a creature.

They are not synonymous. I've heard someone try to argue that FoWP, which ARE creatures, somehow do not behave as such because they are conjurations, which is incorrect.

The effect is a creature if it says it is, otherwise, it is not. That is the only correct answer.
 

I think this is a bit misleading. Figurines of Wondrous Power are a unique item with their own rules. They are summoned by a conjuration power, but otherwise operate completely differently than the normal rules for conjurations.

Every other conjuration in the game works by the standard conjuration rules, and those conjurations are not considered creatures. They interact with attacks and the environment according to the conjuration rules or their own specific mechanics.
 

Every other conjuration in the game works by the standard conjuration rules...

... but those conjured by the FoWPs don't. Thus the word never is not accurate.

The word never means something. You don't get to change its meaning just 'cause you don't like it.

I support replacing it with the word(s) shouldn't.... until WotC erratas the FoWPs.
 

Definition of conjurations "Powers that have the conjuration keyword create conjurations, objects or creatures of magical energy"

So no idea how 'never' could possibly be a valid answer.
 

Definition of conjurations "Powers that have the conjuration keyword create conjurations, objects or creatures of magical energy"

So no idea how 'never' could possibly be a valid answer.

Gee I dont know ..... PHB 3 p.216

CONJURATION
A conjuration power creates a conjuration, which is a thing of magical energy that resembles a creature or an object. Even if a conjuration looks like a creature or displays some degree of sentience, it is not considered a creature.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top