attack effect resolution sequence

evilbob

Adventurer
When an attack has multiple effects, in what order are these typically "resolved?" This doesn't often make a difference, but suppose you had something that did negative levels on attacks - such as a wight - who for some reason also had an additional effect that required a save - such as using the feat stunning fist. In this case, whether or not the negative level takes effect before or after the stunning fist will directly affect the target's save chance. Are there any rules written on this sort of thing, or does it come down to the attacker's choice, or is it usually just a GM's call, or what?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


I'm not saying that the multiple effects thing can't happen, and if they did I would apply them in the way Patryn indicated, but typically the level drain requires a slam attack and the stunning fist an unarmed strike (or so I believe), so you couldn't (in this single example) have both effects take affect with one attack.
 

I also agree with Patryn.

At the time of the attack what are the saves?

I'd think that for there to be a sequence one effect would need to specifically state that it comes before/after the other effects.
 


You get a similar effect with Mordenkainen's Disjunction.

Let's say someone has a Cloak of Resistance +1 and a +1 sword.

He needs to make a Will save to determine whether each item survives.

Let's say he has a Will save of +5, but the Cloak makes it +6. If we test the items sequentially, then the success or failure of the save for the Cloak alters the result for the save for the sword... unless we test the Cloak last.

On the other hand, if we test all items simultaneously (even though we might make the rolls individually), then the sword benefits from the Cloak's +1 whether or not we roll that die first or second, and whether or not the Cloak survives.

-Hyp.
 

Thanks for the input! Simultanious seems like the best way to go, with negative effects not influencing anything until the entire attack is resolved.

(Legildur: I thought a slam attack was a natural attack. Or is this a whole other can of worms?)

Edit: Opps! You said unarmed strike - totally read you wrong. Sorry!
 
Last edited:


Remove ads

Top