Herremann the Wise
First Post
Hi Everyone,
I think the rules as written indicate that no attack of opportunity would be allowed. However, it does not seem to make much sense and so our group had a "discussion" on it last night.
In our case, there was a three foot halfling directly in front of the 32 foot tall fire elemental. One of our mounted characters moves up behind the halfling to give the elemental a prod with the lance (reach weapon) - moving through a square within the elemental's reach. Technically speaking from the above quotes, it appears that the halfling is providing cover for the mounted character and thus no attack of opportunity results for either the horse or the character.
To me, this does not make sense. Am I missing something here? The mounted character and his horse to my thinking should have been swiped - it is my character by the way.
What is going on?
Best Regards
Herremann the Wise
I think the rules as written indicate that no attack of opportunity would be allowed. However, it does not seem to make much sense and so our group had a "discussion" on it last night.
So far so good.SRD said:Cover and Attacks of Opportunity: You can’t execute an attack of opportunity against an opponent with cover relative to you.
OK. We're dealing with a Huge Fire Elemental 15 foot-square with 15 foot reach. Let's have a look at the ranged attack information:SRD said:When making a melee attack against a target that isn’t adjacent to you (such as with a reach weapon), use the rules for determining cover from ranged attacks.
Oh. Well that makes things a little more difficult.SRD said:To determine whether your target has cover from your ranged attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target’s square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a square occupied by a creature, the target has cover (+4 to AC).
In our case, there was a three foot halfling directly in front of the 32 foot tall fire elemental. One of our mounted characters moves up behind the halfling to give the elemental a prod with the lance (reach weapon) - moving through a square within the elemental's reach. Technically speaking from the above quotes, it appears that the halfling is providing cover for the mounted character and thus no attack of opportunity results for either the horse or the character.
To me, this does not make sense. Am I missing something here? The mounted character and his horse to my thinking should have been swiped - it is my character by the way.
What is going on?
Best Regards
Herremann the Wise