Bag of Holding


log in or register to remove this ad

I think you can last for 10 minutes in a Portable Hole. Scaling it down for Bags I'd say death from suffocation occurs in a few minutes max.
 

From the SRD said:
If the bag is overloaded, or if sharp objects pierce it (from inside or outside), the bag ruptures and is ruined. All contents are lost forever.

I'd rule that the PCs end up with a ruptured bag and the prisoner ends up adrift on the ethereal plane, surrounded by the slowly floating debris from other ruptured bags. Getting him back would be quite the adventure, and if they leave him there he could appear later with vengeance on his mind.



(I'd also say that teleport works fine because the prisoner does not move; he's stuck in a tiny pocket-plane and the only thing moving is the bag-shaped portal to that plane.)
 

Jack99 said:
(Then again, even though the bag might be able to contain a lot, the opening has to be able to accomodate it, without ripping the bag)
I don't think you can fit a medium size or larger creature through the opening. Assuming that flat the bag is 2ft per side, then the circumference is 4ft, leaving the diameter of a circular opening at about 1.3ft. I know I wouldn't be able to fit in there and that's even without any clothes on, let alone full plate or something. :)
 

Trellian said:
OK, my players bought a bag of holding last session, which has now become the primary method of bringing along prisoners... can you really keep somebody trapped in a bag of holding? Is it enough room for a medium-sized creature? Does it suffocate?

Also, they have been known to teleport away with the prisoner, claiming that since the prisoner is within the bag, it can be teleported without the prisoner being willing.

It was quit far away from anything covered in the rules, so I allowed it since I didn't want the session to come to a halt.

So.. can they do all that?

Per Infiniti2000's math, you couldn't even fit a medium sized creature {whole} into the bag, 1.3' diameter isn't much. Small sized creatures, sure.

The character inside the bag would suffocate sometime after 10 minutes, {DMG 10 minutes + holding breath}

And yes, they can teleport with Small characters 'in the bag'.. so there are potential for some shenanigans with the magic item.

There is not an official type V Bag of Holding, but it would be relatively simple to swag increases of capacity as:

Bag Weight: 110 {Current weight + {current weight -5}}
Weight Limit: 2,000lbs {+500 lbs}
Volume: 350 cubic feet {+ 100}

Or use Elements of Magic to make livable-in versions :)
 


robberbaron said:
I think you can last for 10 minutes in a Portable Hole. Scaling it down for Bags I'd say death from suffocation occurs in a few minutes max.
But that is a case of the rules making a factual error. A 6 foot diameter, 10 foot deep hole has enough air for almost 4 hours, not 10 minutes. Without circulation, carbon dioxide build up will make problems shortening that time, but not down to ten minutes. Most scuba equipment is based on using one or more 72 cubic foot air tanks (as in: pressurized to contain enough air to fill 72 cubic feet at one atmosphere).
 
Last edited:

You can fit a medium sized corpse in a bag of holding. That is, if you aren't too picky about the condition it's in.

In an old 1st ed game I was in, this happened so much with a party member the bag was known as a "Bag of Ranger Holding".

Likewise, a druid shifting into a snake will fit in regardless if his size, and yes, you can then teleport with the Bag of Druid Holding. Polymorph, wildshape, or reduce person might get you enough folks in the bag to allow the teleport to take them, the caster, +1 person/3 caster levels.
 


Also be aware of the weight limitation. while it can be substancial in the larger bags, if you already have items in the bag you could go over this limit.

But as Infiniti2000 has stated, the big kicker is the limited opening, which does not change with the bag Type.

To place something else into the mix:
Looking at my copy of the SRD, it notes what happens when a bag of holding and a portable hole interacts, but does the same thing happen when two bags of holding interact? (my feeling is yes).
 

Remove ads

Top