Bigby's Icy Grasp squeeze?

scottchiefbaker

First Post
If I have a conjuration of Bigby's Icy Grasp that has an enemy grabbed, do I have to release the enemy to attack it again. The rules text reads "do 2d8 damage and the target is grabbed", but if the target is already grabbed I argued I should just be able to squeeze the target without letting go. Doing the damage is primary, the grab is secondary and optional?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

As a follow up to my own question, do I HAVE to grab the target one a successful attack? Like say I wanted to do the attack, and then move? If I grab the target I can't move.
 

First, it's the hand that grabs the target, not you (the PC). Thus, the PC can still move around while the hand is grabbing something -- just be sure to stay within range.

Second, the power seems relatively clear about how you can use it after the initial attack. When you sustain minor, the grabbed target takes 1d8+Int damage.

After the sustain, as a standard, you can attack "another target" -- the intent seems to be: it can't be the same target the hand is currently grabbing.

What's unclear is whether the intent is that you can move the hand around after it intially appears. The way the power is written, I'd say no, you cannot. That being the case, the only time you'd get to attack "another target" would be if a monster ended up adjacent to the hand.

If this power were being created today, it would be better written. It might actually make more sense as a Summon!
 

Effect: You conjure a 5-foot-tall hand of ice in an unoccupied square within range, and the hand attacks. As a move action, you can move the hand up to 6 squares.

It's not a very well templated power, but it does do what it says on the can.

Also, re moving and grabbed targets:

If you move away from the creature you’re grabbing, you let go and the grab ends.

I see no reason you couldn't move the hand and then try to grab again if you wanted to, really (and you could certainly spend your move and standard to move it next to something else, releasing the grab, and grab a new target). Obviously, the hand can't move a grabbed target, as it doesn't have as strength score and doesn't have that ability.
 
Last edited:

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top