Blackguard's Lay on hands

SpiderMonkey

Explorer
Hello all!

I don't know if this has been posted about before, so please bear with me. ;)

I'm looking at the 3.5 DMG, pg. 183 in the "Fallen Paladins" entry. Under 'lay on hands,' it says he can cure himself of damage equal to his Cha bonus x his level. Is that character level, paladin level, or blackguard level?

As always, any response would be appreciated, even the silly ones. :p
 

log in or register to remove this ad

1:I would go for Blackguard levels.
2:Another possibility would be Blackguard+Fallen Paladin levels, but I think that would make it a bit, too powerful.
3:But never ever Character level!
But I somehow tempted to say 2 would do fine, too.

But since it is an ability the Blackguard PC gets and the Paladin class has the ability as well you could allow them to stack. But you could also rule that since he is no paladin anymore those would not stack. And you can say that since he's a fallen one they could stack again.

I hope someone knows the answer, as it looks I don't have one either.
 

Blackguard levels. Unless a class ability says that it applies to character level, assume that it applies to class levels only.
 

shilsen said:
Blackguard levels. Unless a class ability says that it applies to character level, assume that it applies to class levels only.

Its blackguard levels, however remember that if he was prior a 11+ paladin he could convert some of those paladin levels to get extra blackguard levels which would increase his loh ability etc (and lose abilities that he otherwise would have gained for those ex-paladin levels)
 

Remove ads

Top