Bloodclaw Spiked Gauntlets + Vanguard Mordenkrad - Possible?

Orcus Porkus

First Post
It seems unbelievably cheesy to me, but on the WotC board some people insist that it's legal to wear magic spiked gauntlets AND a magic weapon, and combine both property benefits for both weapons when attacking with one of them.
For instance, you charge with Vanguard Hammer, and suck blood with Bloodclaw spike gauntlet. On a hit, you add both the 1d8 bonus from Vanguard and the damage bonus from Bloodclaw.
I'm not so certain anymore that this is illegal. Are there any definitive answers out there that are strictly RAW? I don't want to approach the DM with a cheese attempt. :)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

You can't attack with more than one weapon at a time unless you're using a power that specifically says you can (and in those cases, you generally only get bonus damage, not [W]).

That said, if you have to ask if it's legal, it probably isn't.
 

You can't attack with more than one weapon at a time unless you're using a power that specifically says you can (and in those cases, you generally only get bonus damage, not [W]).

That said, if you have to ask if it's legal, it probably isn't.

I think the argument goes that an enchanted spiked gauntlet is not just a weapon, it's also just an item like any other that happens to occupy the hand slot. This means, you don't use it as weapon, and simply get the at-will power benefit from it.

Power (At-Will): Free Action. Use this power before making a melee attack on your turn. You take damage up to a maximum of the weapon’s enhancement bonus (a +3 weapon deals up to 3 damage to its wielder). This damage cannot be reduced or prevented in any way. If you hit, increase the damage your target takes by double the amount of damage you took, triple if you are wielding the weapon in two hands.

Of course more headaches are in this description: Do you wield the bloodclaw gauntlet in two hands because it's a pair?
 

"Wielding the weapon in two hands" seems to imply that it's referring to the weapon the power is on. I tend to think that the bloodclaw power doesn't work in this fashion because you aren't wielding the gauntlets, you are wearing them.
 

Meh.

I'd read the weapon in the description as being the bloodclaw weapon... YMMV.

You'd have to be paragon tier, or at least one milestone into a day to use them both the gauntlet and the hammer power for the same attack anyway.

I think it's cheesy, but not overpowered.
 
Last edited:

Meh.

You'd have to be paragon tier, or at least one milestone into a day to use them both the gauntlet and the hammer power for the same attack anyway.

No you don't. Bloodclaw's power is an at-will and Vanguard has a property and a daily power. If you could use the Bloodclaw Spiked Gauntlets, as discussed, You would be able to use both weapon powers and benefit from the property of the Vanguard weapon.
 

No you don't. Bloodclaw's power is an at-will and Vanguard has a property and a daily power. If you could use the Bloodclaw Spiked Gauntlets, as discussed, You would be able to use both weapon powers and benefit from the property of the Vanguard weapon.

Well... guess I should have read that more closely.

It's still cheesy though.
 

The general rule is that you must attack with a weapon to use its Property. AV explicitly says this.

However, the gauntlet thing goes something like this:
1) "Reckless" and "Bloodclaw" weapons have traits which are Powers, not Properties, therefore the general rule does not apply.
2) Neither of the Powers specify that you must be attacking with that weapon.
3) Wear Bloodclaw Gauntlets, and wield Reckless Weapon (or whatever else you want).
4) Profit from both!

It's cheesy, yes. Technically allowable by RAW, yes. In my games, no.
 

Enchanted Trinkets Complete

Recent & Upcoming Releases

Remove ads

Top