Buckler and 2-handed weapons

Emongnome

First Post
The rules for using a buckler (at least in the PHB) only mention missile weapons, and off-hand weapons. I've never considered using a 2-handed weapon as off-hand since there are no penalties. Does that mean a character using, for instance, a greataxe, can still equip a buckler and get the ac bonus? Can't find a reference to this anywhere. Thanks.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Tough call. I don't think you would get the AC bonus from the shield, since you are using that arm to attack. However, this does not seem to be covered by the rules, welcome to the grey area.
 

You can use the arm with the buckler to weild another weapon or a 2-h-weapon... you just wouldn't get the AC benefits until the start of your next round. You would also - IMHO - receive the -1 attack penalty with a 2-h-weapon... the extra weight would still be a factor.

Buckler: This small metal shield is strapped to the forearm, allowing it to be worn and still use the hand. A bow or crossbow can be used without penalty. An off-hand weapon can be used, but a -1 penalty on attack rolls is imposed because of the extra weight on your arm. This penalty stacks with those for fighting with the off hand and, if appropriate, for fighting with two
weapons. In any case, if a weapon is used in the off-hand, the character doesn't get the buckler's AC bonus for the rest of the
round.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top