Calculating Bonus Damage

Bizorro

First Post
I think variants of this have been around but I haven't found a post that quite addresses this.

My understanding is that you only apply bonus damage (like +2 damage from a +2 dagger) once for each attack. So if you use an attack that does 2[W]+Dexterity, you're only adding the +2 once even though you roll weapon damage twice.

I'm a level 8 Rogue, and I like to use Bloodbath, and I can't figure out how to calculate damage for that. It has one attack, which does 1[W]+Dexterity, but then as an Effect, it does an additional 1[W]+Dexterity. Would I add my damage bonus once for each damage roll, or since it's technically just one attack, would I only add the bonus once? Thanks.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Hopefully so, but you technically roll twice when you're doing 2[W] and you definitely don't apply bonuses twice there. I understand that for the 2[W] one it really is just one total damage roll, but you could argue that it all amounts to one big damage roll for Bloodbath.

Any other thoughts?
 


Right, I know to include Dex again, but I'm asking about the damage bonus. I have a +2 dagger and Weapon Focus, so I get +3 to damage on dagger attacks. I'm trying to figure out if I add that bonus twice (once for each time I roll 1[W]+Dex) or just once for the whole attack.
 

A magic weapon gives you a bonus to damage rolls. Likewise for weapon focus. When you execute the hit line, you are making a damage roll. When you execute the effect line, you are also making a damage roll. There's no limit per power; you just apply it once per damage roll.
 

Note, however, that anything noted as "additional damage" modifies an existing damage expression and is not considered a damage roll, even if it contains dice.
 

NMcCoy, I'm confused by your note. Does this pertain specifically to my question or is it general advice? What do you mean exactly?
 

And would Sneak Attack damage ever gain any sort of bonus? It's a damage roll, but it's not really an attack so much as, you're doing extra damage because he wasn't expecting you.
 

Having read the Power, my opinion is that the Effect damage would not NOT get the +3 from the enhancement and feat bonuses.

I say this because the damage is in the Effect portion, and is not a separate attack that you are rolling to hit with. It is essentially extra damage from your original attack. Same thing with Sneak Attack...its additional damage...almost a "+" in itself.

A possible rule of thumb may be (haven't checked this out mind you): if the damage doesn't have a separate attack roll, its an addition to the original, and therefore not eligible for bonuses to damage.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top