Calculating Bonus Damage

The Effect line does get the damage bonus. It is a damage roll that is part of a Weapon power, and thus the enhancement bonus of the weapon you use with it applies. See also the wizard at-will Storm Pillar, which is an Implement power and thus applies the implement's enhancement bonus to damage rolls, even though there is no attack roll involved. (This is part of the reason why Flaming Sphere is considered so potent - because the auto-damage is rolled rather than a static amount, and so bonuses to damage rolls are applied.)

The clarification I was making was in reference to what counts as a damage roll. Specifically:

* A damage expression that contains dice (such as "1[W]" or "1d8+Strength modifier") is a damage roll.
* A damage expression that does not contain dice (such as "2 + Intelligence modifier damage") is not a damage roll.
* The enhancement bonus of weapons and implements applies to all damage rolls of powers used through that weapon or implement.
* Anything noted as extra damage, even if it involves dice, does not change the damage-roll status of a damage expression.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Samursus, the rule about only adding the bonus for each attack could work, but there's really nothing in the rules that suggests it. All of these bonuses are specifically written to apply to all "damage rolls". Hopefully, if the intent had been to apply the damage bonus once for each successful Attack, Wizards would have said so in similarly transparent language, though I could definitely be wrong.

The real difficulty is defining exactly what constitutes a single damage roll. Is the idea that you're only really stabbing the guy once, so you should only apply the damage once, even though there are two rolls? Bloodbath is peculiar in that its effect line is just another damage roll instead of having any status effects or anything, so it's tricky.
 

* Anything noted as extra damage, even if it involves dice, does not change the damage-roll status of a damage expression.

Just to clarify on this point here, if the power gets a new damage roll then you give it the enhancement bonuses etc.

However the extra damage comes in the form of wording like this:

Lion of Battle:

Attack: Strength vs AC
Hit: 4[W] + Strength modifier damage. If the target was bloodied before the attack, it takes +2[W] Damage.

The bolded part is extra damage to the power and not a new damage roll. Therefore the damage is now 6[W] + strength, instead of 2 damage rolls of 4[W] + Strength and 2[W] + Strength.

As others have said, even if there is no new damage roll a power gains bonus modifiers if it has a new damage roll. Another example to this is Rain of steel that doesn't have attack rolls but has damage rolls in the vain of 1[W]. This still gets modifiers from your weapon and weapon focus as it is still a weapon attack with a damage roll even if it is in the effect line. (As Rain of still doesn't have a hit line at all).
 

Thanks everybody. So just to get this absolutely straight:

Every time I roll for weapon damage (instead of say Sneak Attack), I add my bonuses, which include:

+2 magic dagger, +1 weapon focus, +2 Iron Armbands of Power (in melee)

This means that for Bloodbath, a melee attack that hits would automatically do
1d4+Dex+5 + 1d4+Dex+5 ?

If so, I'm not complaining. Just want to be clear on it.
 

Thanks everybody. So just to get this absolutely straight:

Every time I roll for weapon damage (instead of say Sneak Attack), I add my bonuses, which include:

+2 magic dagger, +1 weapon focus, +2 Iron Armbands of Power (in melee)

This means that for Bloodbath, a melee attack that hits would automatically do
1d4+Dex+5 + 1d4+Dex+5 ?

If so, I'm not complaining. Just want to be clear on it.

Actually that's not -quite- correct.

You are correct for this specific example, you do deal that much damage....

The thing is 'weapon damage' (which is the [W] part of damage) is not relevant to the equation. Weapon Focus cares about the weapon keyword of the power, but other than that, all that matters is if you roll dice for damage.
 

Remove ads

Top