Infiniti2000 said:
Only "within" is explicitly prohibited. You can argue that "while in" is implicitly prohibited, but that's the best you can do.
SRD said:
The space within this barrier is impervious to most magical effects, including spells, spell-like abilities, and supernatural abilities. Likewise, it prevents the functioning of any magic items or spells within its confines.
An antimagic field suppresses any spell or magical effect used within, brought into, or cast into the area, but does not dispel it. Time spent within an antimagic field counts against the suppressed spell’s duration.
So:
1/ You can't cast while in, or within.
2/ You can't use spells cast outside while in, or within (since it's impervious to the latter, and the former is suppressed).
Infiniti2000 said:
All the rules are based on grammar, so your rebuttal here is quite self-serving. Are you seriously trying to get me to ignore grammar? In favor of what, may I ask?
Well, reading the rules in their context, it looks like the more common interpretation (which is
both) is what's intended. So IMHO splitting this hair is counter-productive to understanding the spell.
Infiniti2000 said:
I've said before that I would agree that creating an effect would be blocked. You cannot cast call lightning while in an AMF. Granted. But, once cast you are no longer 'creating an effect'.
That's only true until you try to create an effect. Seriously, are you telling me that a lightning bolt isn't an effect, created by the spell? If it's not, where is it coming from?
Infiniti2000 said:
You may not like it, but unless you can come up with solid evidence to back up your claims, you can't prove that (1) AMF blocks line of effect (but see the previous post and my concession therein), or (2a) you need line of effect to call a lightning bolt once cast, (2b) calling lightning is a magical effect on the caster (i.e. dispellable, etc.).
The
only wonky thing about
call lightning (as opposed to
produce flame for example) is that you can't target
call lightning with
dispel magic, because the spell isn't on you, and yet it also isn't anywhere else (until it generates an Instantaneous effect, which is also tricky to target).
Flaming sphere is similarly directed, but has a dispellable effect -- I'd rule the same way on that one, BTW. The spell exists even while you're in the AMF, but you can't direct it while you are within the AMF.
As to what I need to prove:
1) A barrier blocks LoE. AMF creates an impervious barrier. QED. (See previous post for quotes and links.)
2a) General rule:
You must have a clear line of effect to any target that you cast a spell on or to any space in which you wish to create an effect.
2b) Nope, wrong. All I need to show is that the lightning bolt requires
use of the spell. AMF doesn't just prohibit casting, it prevents
using any spell or magical effect. It's a broad brush, and I'm guessing arguments like yours are why it's there.
- - -
Now, I will find it disrespectful if you don't back your claims up with some rules, links, etc. I've been doing a lot of the legwork in this conversation.
Start with "barrier", please. Prove that the barrier which prevents LoE isn't the barrier created by an AMF.
Alternately, prove that you somehow gain the benefit of a spell without "using" the spell.
Cheers, -- N