Nifft
Penguin Herder
Indeed.Falling Icicle said:Directing a call lightning spell to zap someone should certainly count as "using" it.

Cheers, -- N
Indeed.Falling Icicle said:Directing a call lightning spell to zap someone should certainly count as "using" it.
It is an effect, but what I'm saying is that it was created at the time of casting. All that is required later is to call it down, which is undefined. You may choose to interpret that as creating the lightning bolt on the spot. Someone else could choose to say that the lightning bolts are all created at casting time and fly above the caster's head somewhere. Who's right? Either person, as long as their choice of flavor does not restrict others if a rule is decided from that flavor. Why can't I choose the flavor description of actually calling down the bolts verbally, e.g. "Come on, down, bolt #3, you're on the Price is Right!" It's purely verbal, the bolts somehow understand, and we're good to go. And now when we get to the AMF rule, my interpretation allows me to call lightning, because I just need to talk, expending a standard action to do it.Nifft said:Seriously, are you telling me that a lightning bolt isn't an effect, created by the spell? If it's not, where is it coming from?
Back up my claims? Are you joking? Perhaps you've forgotten that my claim was that the rules are silent on AMF blocking line of effect. To prove they're silent, then, here's my quote: "". :\Nifft said:Now, I will find it disrespectful if you don't back your claims up with some rules, links, etc. I've been doing a lot of the legwork in this conversation.
I've already conceded to Dreamchaser's argument. Really, do you need to keep beating this horse?Nifft said:Start with "barrier", please. Prove that the barrier which prevents LoE isn't the barrier created by an AMF.
I would say that a summoned monster running around outside of the AMF is definitely giving you a benefit.Nifft said:Alternately, prove that you somehow gain the benefit of a spell without "using" the spell.
Infiniti2000 said:It is an effect, but what I'm saying is that it was created at the time of casting. All that is required later is to call it down, which is undefined. You may choose to interpret that as creating the lightning bolt on the spot. Someone else could choose to say that the lightning bolts are all created at casting time and fly above the caster's head somewhere. Who's right? Either person, as long as their choice of flavor does not restrict others if a rule is decided from that flavor.
Infiniti2000 said:Why can't I choose the flavor description of actually calling down the bolts verbally, e.g. "Come on, down, bolt #3, you're on the Price is Right!" It's purely verbal, the bolts somehow understand, and we're good to go. And now when we get to the AMF rule, my interpretation allows me to call lightning, because I just need to talk, expending a standard action to do it."
Infiniti2000 said:It is an effect, but what I'm saying is that it was created at the time of casting. All that is required later is to call it down, which is undefined.
First, because verbally instructing something is usually a free action. Second, because verbally instructing something is a sonic effect (silence now really screws you -- it's not mere flavor). Third, because speaking requires the ability to move (so paralysis screws you -- it's not mere flavor). Fourth, because you are required to be able to speak (so wild shape screws you -- it's not mere flavor).Infiniti2000 said:It is an effect, but what I'm saying is that it was created at the time of casting. All that is required later is to call it down, which is undefined. You may choose to interpret that as creating the lightning bolt on the spot. Someone else could choose to say that the lightning bolts are all created at casting time and fly above the caster's head somewhere. Who's right? Either person, as long as their choice of flavor does not restrict others if a rule is decided from that flavor. Why can't I choose the flavor description of actually calling down the bolts verbally, e.g. "Come on, down, bolt #3, you're on the Price is Right!" It's purely verbal, the bolts somehow understand, and we're good to go. And now when we get to the AMF rule, my interpretation allows me to call lightning, because I just need to talk, expending a standard action to do it.
The spell provides no particular avenue of communication; in fact, it's possible that you are unable to communicate, and the spell's function is well defined in this case.SRD said:If you can communicate with the creature, you can direct it not to attack, to attack particular enemies, or to perform other actions.
The spell provides the only avenue of "communication"... thought calling it "communication" is a bit of a stretch. Really, what this line means is: "you may take a standard action each round and use the spell to create the spell's effect".SRD said:each round after the first you may use a standard action (concentrating on the spell) to call a bolt
DreamChaser said:No...it is clear defined. "However, each round after the first you may use a standard action (concentrating on the spell) to call a bolt."
The clear definition is "Concentrating on the spell" even if all of the bolts were created in advance (and cleverly hidden from all who view it), concentrating on a spell is using a spell, otherwise Illusionists would have a hey day with the image spells.
Really, saying that concentrating on a spell is not using a spell is like saying that maintaining a grapple is not an attack ("I attacked before, now I'm just continuing what I was doing and dealing damage each round...").
DC
IanB said:If concentrating on a spell is "using" a spell, then a caster who is concentrating on a spell to, for example, maintain the duration will lose the spell if he enters an AMF; it will not simply be suppressed. I can't see a way to rule one way on call lightning and the other way on, say, detect magic, personally.
It doesn't matter too much to me which answer ends up being right, but I think it does need to be consistent.