Can Consecrated Ground be moved away from the cleric?

I'm with AA and Mesh on this one.
Especially as Consecrated Ground doesn't "move the zone". It moves the Origin Square. The zone is just given off by the Origin Square. I'd treat it like an item that has an aura being given off, and I'd allow a player to walk away from an item and have the item keep going (as the item maintains the effect, just as the OS in this case maintains the zone around it).

As no range limit is given for how far an Origin Square is able to be from someone it then doesn't fall under the PHB p59 or PHB2 p222 rules and just works as written, and stays nice and easy to use.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

We play(ed) it as allowing a move without a limit on range. Since it is pretty steep cost, spending a move to move it and a minor to sustain, I have no real problem allowing it. You can do the Minor/Move to keep it going, but are then limited to an attack or move yourself. IMO this is a probable intention of the Power, but I try to stay out of lawery interpretations, since I suck at 'em.

Jay
 

Our interpretation (and there was no real debate on this; it just seemed apparent from the general rule on zones) has been that at least one square of the zone must remain within Close Burst 1 of (that is, adjacent to) the cleric. So she can minor- sustain, move- the zone (for instance, from one side of her to the other side), and move-herself to continue progressing it across the battlefield next turn, but that has kept her busy. It has been tactically great fun, especially when she is knocked prone. "Is there a Quick Crawling feat?"

It may not be RAI, but it serves as a nice check on this mega power and has made combats interesting. The cleric hasn't complained (she is not aware of any controversy, and neither was I until I saw this thread)
 

I'd have to say that since the power would still be extremely good even if the zone were totally immobile that the best reading of the rules in regards to it is the most restrictive one that makes sense.

In this particular case that reading for me is that close burst powers have a range of 0, and therefore the cleric must end their turn within the zone each round to maintain it.
 

I just noticed:

is the origin square a part of the zone?

I guess not, because close bursts don´t affect your origin square. So the cleric doesn´t affect himself in his zone of massive healing. And if he moves into the zone, he can be pushed out wih a simple bull rush. Right?
 

That's an unclear part of the rules, but based on extensive prior discussion, I believe that the interpretation which creates the most effective, logical and consistent outcomes is to treat the caster of a close burst as being "in" the area of effect they've created, but subject to a special rule that says that they are not affected by the effect they've created if it is a negative effect.

This avoids silly outcomes that are created by the "hole in the middle of the burst" effect, such as clerics being unable to heal themselves with Healing Word.
 

I just noticed:

is the origin square a part of the zone?

I guess not, because close bursts don´t affect your origin square. So the cleric doesn´t affect himself in his zone of massive healing. And if he moves into the zone, he can be pushed out wih a simple bull rush. Right?

If bursts don't include origin squares, clerics can't Healing Word themselves.
 

I just noticed:

is the origin square a part of the zone?

I guess not, because close bursts don´t affect your origin square. So the cleric doesn´t affect himself in his zone of massive healing. And if he moves into the zone, he can be pushed out wih a simple bull rush. Right?
I'm away from the books, but don't the rules say the caster isn't affected, rather than the origin square, i.e. if you shared a square with a (e.g. prone) monster, it would affect the monster just fine?
 

If bursts don't include origin squares, clerics can't Healing Word themselves.
From compendium:

Unless a power description notes otherwise, a close burst you create does not affect you. However, an area burst you create does affect you. A burst affects a target only if there is line of effect from the burst’s origin square to the target.

From healing word:

Target: You or one ally

consecrated ground:
Effect: The burst creates a zone of sanctified ground that lasts until the end of your next turn. You can move the origin square of the zone 3 squares as a move action. Enemies that start their turns within the zone take 1d6 + your Charisma modifier radiant damage. You and any allies who are bloodied and start their turns within the zone regain hit points equal to 1 + your Charisma modifier.

So yes, it seems as if there is no hole in the power. The origin square is part of the burst. And the cleric himself can profit from the effect.
 

The "Doughnut Hole" probably doesn't exist. First it contradicts close burst powers that DO state you can target yourself. Second the exact rules text is

A burst starts in the origin square and extends in all directions...

which you would commonly interpret in English to mean that the origin square itself is part of the area of effect.

Of course the illustration on the same page (PHB 272) doesn't have the origin square colored in, which seems at odds with the text of the rules. I think the text has to take precedence over the illustrations (there are other known errors in some of the illustrations as well).
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top