Can I move 0?

clearstream

(He, Him)
A few days ago Buzz wondered if players can use a move action to move 0? I said I recollected something saying you can, but would send in for CSR confirmation. Confirmation came back saying no move 0.

Then the below arrived this morning.

Allow me to revise my original statement then - Yes, you can take a move action and choose to move 0. And then the answer to this question would also be yes.

The CSR was Charles, the incident number is 080727-000083. The second question he's answering there is whether you can also move 0 with a power.

-vk
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Why would you want to?...

Well, okay. Maybe when using a power and you don't want to shift. But is there any reason to spend a move action to move 0 squares?!
 




Make sure to read the clarification of Stealth on DDI
I imagine it's also in the errata


You know, I was going to take your advise here and check DDI, but when I visted the site, to my utter amazement, the DDI site, indeed all of Wizards.com, is down! That never happens! I can't wait to pay $10/month for this obviously great site!!

*the previous statement is sarcastic and not meant as a jab at Fkewl, but at WotC and their inability to keep their website running for more than 10 hours at a time.
P.S. I was really looking forward to the game table, character creater, and all the other digital goodies being made for 4e until I found out that the cost is $10/month and that WotC can't even figure out how to keep their (non interactive) website up and running.
The future of D&D WOULD be the internet if WotC had any idea what this new fangled "internets" thing is.
 
Last edited:

Ah, right... Not sure if I'd allow that... but w/e.


Oh I dont know, you have to have cover to use stealth anyway, so you are just using your move action to position yourself better behind the bush you are crouching at, perhaps making the enemy think you moved around to the side of it or something. It makes sence to me
 

Why would you want to?...

Well, okay. Maybe when using a power and you don't want to shift. But is there any reason to spend a move action to move 0 squares?!

Maybe to twist a rule in to something it was never meant to do? I am not trying to be rude, but move 0 makes no sense (to me).

Please explain why else someone would ask such a question.
 

Maybe to twist a rule in to something it was never meant to do? I am not trying to be rude, but move 0 makes no sense (to me).

Please explain why else someone would ask such a question.

For instance the Fighter attack power Sudden Surge has an effect that says you move a number of squares equal to your dexterity modifier. But it also does 2[W] damage. You just want the damage, and don't care to move and provoke an attack, so you could choose to move 0.
 

Maybe you're flanking something with a defender and want to provoke an OA without going anywhere? Like, using a move to deliberately leave yourself open.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top