frankthedm said:
A few.
No, it can't just single out Monstrous humaniods.
Serves me right for using the word 'type' carelessly when it is a term of art within D&D.
Now IF you have already seen a doppleganger within 30'.
We have a couple of doppleganger corpses to study as closely as we want. We are interested in finding any living ones that may be out there. (A corpse is of course an object and not a creature and will not ping on the spell.)
IMHO, the Doppleganger's true form has to have been seen to locate "Dopplegangers" in general. Otherwise you can locate the being you think was a doppleganger.
Yeah, that's the situation we are in. We have a doppleganger try to mess with us on two separate occasions and killed each individual. There is no reason to think that two is all the dopplegangers out there.
Technicly you are right on this one, but don't be surprised if the DM goes the "If it quacks like a duck..." reasoning.
See, here's the thing. I know that a lot of creatures used to have a Polymorph at Will ability (or an ability that referenced polymorph), which has been updated to Change Shape as the polymorph rules were slowly excised from the game. Locate Creature has not, as far as I know, been updated. Iit still references Polymorph.
However, were dopplegangers one of the ones that changed, or have they always had Change Shape as opposed to polymorph? If they have always had change shape, it seems to me that the original intent of the rules was that dopplegangers should be findable by means of the spell.
Also the running water clause throws in some more wrinkles.
The DM has leeway to use the clause to declare that it doesn't work. But given that we're in a city, it's not going to be because of any neutral, simulationist, "I have already charted all the running water sources within the city and see that their carefully plotted map course over the 70 minute duration of the spell will not allow them to locate any dopplegangers during the time duration of the spell, whose location at that time I have also already decided."
It's going to be because the DM decided he didn't want the spell to work.