Can Spiritjaws be moved like Spiritual Weapon?

Kor

First Post
Spiritjaws doesn't mention if you can move them from one opponent to another, similar to a spiritual weapon. Does anyone know if this is possible, or do they simply just appear at one enemy and keep gnawing on him only?

If an enemy who is is not grappled with them, moves away from the Spiritjaws, then what happens? The text does mention that if the Spiritjaws move out of their range, they vanish. This implies that they can move. Now, in the case where the enemy moves, what happens?
- do the spiritjaws automatically follow him, or do I have to spend an action to re-engage them? If so, then what type of action -- a standard action?
- do the spiritjaws return to the caster and then again fly off and attack the opponent, hence the wording "the set of jaws always strikes from your direction"

The only mention that the jaws can move at all, is a reference to what happens when the jaws move out of range.

At first glance, it sort of sounds like to me that the jaws are only intended to be used for the first opponent they are summoned for. If that opponent dies though, then there is no mention of what happens to the jaws. Do they just sit there chattering away? Do they vanish?

Being a 3rd level spell, I don't think it would be unreasonable to allow the caster to move them as a standard action ... it simply does a little more damage than Spiritual Weapon, but includes a grappling effect.

As spiritjaws assumably do move to re-engage an opponent, why could they not move to re-engage another opponent chosen by the caster?

Does anyone know if there ever been an official ruling on whether Spiritjaws follows the same Spiritual Weapon mechanics?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Remove ads

Top