log in or register to remove this ad

 

Can you always take a 5 ft step?

Olive

Explorer
I'm a bit confused by this. Can you always take a 5 ft step regardless of what other actions you take in the round?

I'm pretty sure you can't take a 5 ft step and move, but I'm not sure where it says that.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Grazzt

Demon Lord
Olive said:


I'm pretty sure you can't take a 5 ft step and move, but I'm not sure where it says that.

Right. You can't take a 5-foot step AND move. One reference to this (more or less) is in the PHB, on page 121, right column, under Move-Equivalent Action. The paragraph starts "If you move..."

The relevant passage:

"If you move no actual distance in a round (commonly because you have swapped your move for one or more move-equivalent actions), you can take one 5-foot step...."

Also- page 127, under RUN. "You can run as a full-round action. (You do not get a 5-foot step.)"
 
Last edited:

Kae'Yoss

First Post
You cannot take the 5-ft-step if you have used your move action (or made a double-move) to cover any distance moving.

So you can't move your speed, attack once, and take a 5-ft-step back.

But if you use your move action to make a move-equivalent action that doesn't let you actually cover any distance - or even make a double-move with two such actions - you can make the 5-ft-step.

So you can stand up from a prone postion (move-equivalent), move 5 feet, and attack then. You could even stand up form the prone postition (mea 1), draw your weapon (mea 2) - so you made a double move), and still make your 5-ft-step.
 

Pielorinho

Iron Fist of Pelor
Is it clarified anywhere whether you can make a 5' "step" while prone? We've always allowed people to do it (equivalent to the dramatic roll-and-stand of a movie), but I wonder if the rules speak on this action.

IOW, can you move 5', stand up, and attack?

Daniel
 

Grazzt

Demon Lord
Pielorinho said:


IOW, can you move 5', stand up, and attack?

Daniel

Yes. Page 121 in the PHB. Last sentence under Move-Equivalent Action.

"For example, if Tordek is on the ground, he can stand up (a move-equivalent action), move 5 feet (his 5-foot step), and attack."
 

AuraSeer

Prismatic Programmer
Pielorinho said:
Is it clarified anywhere whether you can make a 5' "step" while prone?
I'm pretty sure the books are silent on this point. I looked for it a while back and couldn't find anything about it.
 

Pielorinho

Iron Fist of Pelor
Grazzt said:
Yes. Page 121 in the PHB. Last sentence under Move-Equivalent Action.

"For example, if Tordek is on the ground, he can stand up (a move-equivalent action), move 5 feet (his 5-foot step), and attack."

Actually, I'm wondering whether Tordek could have done it in reverse order: could he have moved 5 feet (his 5-foot step), stood up (a move-equivalent action) and attacked?

Daniel
 

Grazzt

Demon Lord
Pielorinho said:


Actually, I'm wondering whether Tordek could have done it in reverse order: could he have moved 5 feet (his 5-foot step), stood up (a move-equivalent action) and attacked?

Daniel

You mean moving 5 feet while prone, then standing, then attacking, right? (I hope so, otherwise, why would ya move, THEN stand up?...:D)

I dont remember the books saying anything about moving while prone.
 

Pielorinho

Iron Fist of Pelor
Grazzt said:
I dont remember the books saying anything about moving while prone.

That's what I thought. Clearly, people can move while prone; just as clearly, humans move faster when not prone. A rule on movement while prone would be nice.

I know there have been a couple of times in our game when it'd be nice to move while prone. I can't think of specifics, but off the top of my head, I can imagine a scenario:

Enemies are laying down a field of fire (essentially, readying an action to shoot at the first person they see). Fortunately, you're behind a 2' high coffin in the warehouse, enough to provide you 100% cover if you're prone, or 25% cover if you're upright. Five feet away from you is an open door: if you can wriggle the 5' on your belly, you can stand up in the doorway, getting 100% cover, at which point you can do all kinds of fun things (drink a potion, cast invisiblity on yourself, pop a fireball into the room, etc.)

I know that's not the scenario we had in our game, but it is one in which moving 5' while prone and then standing is much more advantageous than standing then moving 5'.

Daniel
 

Kae'Yoss

First Post
I think that should be no problem. After all, creatures with a higher moving rate only get a five-ft-step, too. They don't get a 10-ft-step. So a 5's is a 5's is a 5's. Whether you're prone or not. But that's only one interpretation. Just do what you like best.
 




Cruel7Rose

Villager
Is it clarified anywhere whether you can make a 5' "step" while prone? We've always allowed people to do it (equivalent to the dramatic roll-and-stand of a movie), but I wonder if the rules speak on this action.

IOW, can you move 5', stand up, and attack?

Daniel
No, you can not 5 foot step while prone, otherwise abilities like Rogue's Crawl and Mokey Moves feat would be usless. And it wouldnt make sense that while, crawling, you can only move 5ft while crawling and provoke attacks of opportunity but can still take 5 foot steps, moving the same amount and not provoking ao.
 


Puggins

Explorer
Supporter
It’s called a shift, and it takes one action.

How do you go back so far for a necro like this- is it a result of googling a rule or something? This isn’t the first of its kind this year.
 


Level Up!

An Advertisement

Advertisement4

Top