Can you change your mind?

hobgoblin said:
err, how can a charge trigger a aoo? i figured it to be outside of the move within and move out of rules for aoo's again movement.
Same page (PH, p. 141) footnote (1), which is applied to all the column headers on whether an action provokes an attack of opportunity, states: "Regardless of the action, if you move out of a threatened square, you usually provoke an attack of opportunity. This column indicates whether the action itself, not moving, provokes an attack of opportunity."

When you charge an opponent with a longer reach than you have, you will probably have to leave a square he threatens in order to get close enough to attack him. Doing so provokes an attack of opportunity.

EDIT: Don't know if the same rule applies to 3.0e. Will have to check my books.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad


FireLance said:
The rules document one instance of being able to change your mind after you have committed yourself to an action: if you declare the full attack action, you can decide to take a move action after resolving your first attack.

That's right. And notice that they have to include a specific rule to allow you to do it :)

I require someone to tell me what action they're taking - it's not enough to say "I go there", I need to know if they're using a Move action, a Charge action, or a Run action to go there.

If they are taking a Move action, they can move in any direction up to their speed. If they travel ten feet, then see a goblin hiding behind a chair, they have a few options. They can continue along their original path. They can reverse course to get away from the goblin's crossbow. They can move over to the goblin, or stop in place. And then they still have a standard action remaining, since they've only taken a move action so far.

If they're taking the Charge or Run action, though, then when they see the goblin, they only have a couple of options. They can continue moving in a straight line, or they can abandon their action and stop. In either case, they can't attack the goblin - they've already used a Full Round action this round, so they don't have a standard action left.

-Hyp.
 

FireLance said:
Nope. Disarm has a little footnote (PH, p. 141) that says, "These attack forms substitute for a melee attack, not an action. As melee attacks, they can be used once in an attack or charge action, one or more times in a full attack action, or even as an attack of opportunity."

Right...should have checked my 3.5 books...my fault for mainly playing 3.0 still. Thanks for the update. :)
That's the price paid for playing mixed editions. :lol:
 

Geron Raveneye said:
Right...should have checked my 3.5 books...my fault for mainly playing 3.0 still. Thanks for the update. :)
That's the price paid for playing mixed editions. :lol:

Disarm in 3E has exactly the same footnote :)

-Hyp.
 

You can draw a weapon as part of your move action so I'd say no big deal, the Paladin realizes that he has no weapon towards the end of his move and can choose to draw another weapon and get his single attack with the new weapon.
 


Calico_Jack73 said:
You can draw a weapon as part of your move action so I'd say no big deal, the Paladin realizes that he has no weapon towards the end of his move and can choose to draw another weapon and get his single attack with the new weapon.

Of course, if you're charging, you're not actually taking a move action.

Geron Raveneye said:
Just another house rule to be added. Gods, what a nonsense.

Why nonsense?

Do you allow someone to Disarm on an Attack action? One or more times in a Full Attack action? On a Charge action? On an AoO?

If your answer to any of those is 'No', then what is it about the concept that bothers you? It's been part of 3E since the rules first came out...

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Why nonsense?

Do you allow someone to Disarm on an Attack action? One or more times in a Full Attack action? On a Charge action? On an AoO?

If your answer to any of those is 'No', then what is it about the concept that bothers you? It's been part of 3E since the rules first came out...

-Hyp.

Well, more like I have to ponder on some clarifications. Multiple grapples on a full attack? A disarm maneuver after a charge? Of course, works by the rules...depends on how they "taste" in my mouth if I go along or houserule them out...just as everything, I guess. :)
 

Remove ads

Top