Can you choose to stop your movement in mid-air?


log in or register to remove this ad

NO. No you cannot. You don't actually get a "turn" per se, you're never hanging in mid air even if your movement ends with you in midair. All that happens in that case is that we stop focusing on your move for the six second sequence in question and we move on to someone elses. That person gets to act, and during that person's act anything he does that affects you will affect you at the point in time where you're in mid air.

The instant we focus on you again, you continue moving. At no time were you actually hanging in mid air, however it might appear that way do to the way we split up our focus on the game.
 

ARandomGod said:
NO. No you cannot. You don't actually get a "turn" per se, you're never hanging in mid air even if your movement ends with you in midair. All that happens in that case is that we stop focusing on your move for the six second sequence in question and we move on to someone elses. That person gets to act, and during that person's act anything he does that affects you will affect you at the point in time where you're in mid air.

The instant we focus on you again, you continue moving. At no time were you actually hanging in mid air, however it might appear that way do to the way we split up our focus on the game.

So if "during that person's act anything he does that affects you will affect you at the point in time where you're in mid air", and the anything-he-does is to provoke an AoO from you, your AoO occurs at the point in time where you're in mid air, right?

So higher ground bonus, or no higher ground bonus, on that AoO?

-Hyp.
 

Actually, the answer to the OPs question appears to be yes.

You can end your turn in mid-jump. The rules state that this can happen, so it is merely a matter of contriving your movement so that it happens.

Action: None. A Jump check is included in your movement, so it is part of a move action. If you run out of movement mid-jump, your next action (either on this turn or, if necessary, on your next turn) must be a move action to complete the jump.


The further question of whether you can attack and get a bonus to hit because of that is more problematic, but still doable.

For example, you could get an AoO while "hanging in mid air". An AoO is not an action, so it can be done.

There is probably at least one feat or PrC special ability that allows you to do a normal attack outside of your turn and outside the Ready action, but that would not be a move action, so it could not be used.

And, of course, an Elocater can do this (jump, float, attack or ready an attack).


Hyp's Ready "trick", although clever, could not be used because the next action is not a move action: "your next action (either on this turn or, if necessary, on your next turn) must be a move action". Next Action here cannot refer to next turn due to the "either on this turn ..." phrase.
 

RangerWickett said:
If two warriors are in subject-directional gravity, with their feet facing each other while the use flight magic to hover as they fight, what kind of modifiers are there? :)

The enemy gate is down.

:)
 


KarinsDad said:
Hyp's Ready "trick", although clever, could not be used because the next action is not a move action: "your next action (either on this turn or, if necessary, on your next turn) must be a move action". Next Action here cannot refer to next turn due to the "either on this turn ..." phrase.

Except that it says your next action either on this turn, or, if necessary, on your next turn must be a move action.

The Readied action explicitly happens after this turn is over and before your next has begun, so while it is an action, it is neither your next action on this turn, nor your next action on your next turn, and as such is not subject to that requirement.

-Hyp.
 


Hypersmurf said:
Except that it says your next action either on this turn, or, if necessary, on your next turn must be a move action.

The Readied action explicitly happens after this turn is over and before your next has begun, so while it is an action, it is neither your next action on this turn, nor your next action on your next turn, and as such is not subject to that requirement.

The bolded phrase is incorrect. The italicized phrase does not state "your next action", it states "your next turn".

It is not before your next turn. If you take the Readied Action, it becomes your next turn and hence, is not allowed. And, it is definitely "your next action".

If you do not take the Readied Action, again, it becomes your next turn.

Your initiative result becomes the count on which you took the readied action.

turn: the point in the round in which you take your action(s).

Did you take an action with the Readied Action? Yes.
Is it the point in the round in which you did that? Yes.
Is it your new initiative count? Yes.

A turn in DND is no different than a turn in many other games (like chess or monopoly). It is the player's (or DM's) opportunity "to go". The Readied Action does not change that, it merely changes when it happens. When you do your Readied Action, you get to take your turn. You can consider it your previous turn, or your next turn, but either way, it is not allowed since only a Move Action is allowed.


I recall some time back that you opined that a character can decide to take a 5' step and/or free actions when they perform their readied action. It sounds to me like they are taking their turn if a) they are taking an action, b) they can make other decisions concerning their action, and c) that is their new initiative.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Except that it says your next action either on this turn, or, if necessary, on your next turn must be a move action.

The Readied action explicitly happens after this turn is over and before your next has begun, so while it is an action, it is neither your next action on this turn, nor your next action on your next turn, and as such is not subject to that requirement.
Ah, but you can no longer take the readied action, so the point is immaterial. "If you come to your next action and have not yet performed your readied action, you don’t get to take the readied action..."

If you readied to attack and then move, you lose the readied action. Moving is undeniably your next action, isn't it?
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top