Can you turn undead without manipulating a holy symbol? (strapped to shield)

Emirikol

Adventurer
I don't know the rules *that* well, so this question is a bit more complicated than the title and I know one of you wizards can help me out.

According to anything 3.5 by WOTC, can you turn undead with a holy symbol strapped to your shield? Reworded, can a holy symbol (PHB eq. list) be properly manipulated if it is strapped to a shield or buckler?

Does this same rule apply to other components?

Thanks in advance,

jh
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

The rules do not say, but more importantly, they do not restrict it. Having a holy symbol strapped/affixed to your shield, breast plate, or helm probably all qualify for "presenting" it. "Manipulating" it is not required to turn undead.

There are no other components for turning undead.
 

AFAIK, it only needs to be "strongly presented"- which works REALLY well if your deity's holy symbol is also a weapon!
 

Except that if you have a melee weapon as a holy symbol and use it to turn, you can't really hit them with it (well you could but I would wonder why). Now if you have a holy crossbow it might be a different story.

SRD said:
Effect and Duration of Turning

Turned undead flee from you by the best and fastest means available to them. They flee for 10 rounds (1 minute). If they cannot flee, they cower (giving any attack rolls against them a +2 bonus). If you approach within 10 feet of them, however, they overcome being turned and act normally. (You can stand within 10 feet without breaking the turning effect—you just can’t approach them.) You can attack them with ranged attacks (from at least 10 feet away), and others can attack them in any fashion, without breaking the turning effect.
 

For some reason im thinking of a cleric holding up his hand to a horde of undead and saying "Talk to the hand."(holy symbol of his god being a upraised hand, palm facing outwards).
 

Question said:
For some reason im thinking of a cleric holding up his hand to a horde of undead and saying "Talk to the hand."(holy symbol of his god being a upraised hand, palm facing outwards).
So that's what priests of Torm do!
 

Infiniti2000 said:
"Manipulating" it is not required to turn undead.

For casting spells, however, it's another matter... so if you have a non-manipulable symbol for turning, you'll probably need to carry a manipulable one regardless.

-Hyp.
 

We houseruled in our game that the Sacred armour ability allows it to be used as a holy symbol and as a divine focus, though a true divine focus is still needed for preparing spells everyday (we play Dragonlance which has specialized holy symbols).
 

So since it's part of a standard action, if a PC has it glued to his shield, he can't use the shield at the same time. Wouldn't it be smarter to duct-it to your weapon instead?

How about sunder to the holy symbol? Is it considered "striking an item worn"?

jh
 
Last edited:

Hypersmurf said:
For casting spells, however, it's another matter... so if you have a non-manipulable symbol for turning, you'll probably need to carry a manipulable one regardless.
Sure, but he was asking about turning.

And that's why everyone cleric out there has a bajillion holy symbols, most of them wooden to conserve costs. Affix one to your shield, one to your armor (which can never be sundered), one to your weapon, helm, tattoo it over your body, etc.
Emirikol said:
So since it's part of a standard action, if a PC has it glued to his shield, he can't use the shield at the same time.
Why not? I don't see anything saying, "You can use your shield if you affix your holy symbol to it." How about if your holy symbol is worked into your armor? Do you then not get the +8 armor bonus from the plate mail? How would you explain that?
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top