Pbartender
First Post
You are. Mistaken that is.
And you're also reading crunchy things into normal random sentence variations: the WotC designers aren't writing legal code, and you shouldn't scrutinize each and every comma.
Don't say that... They may not be writing legal code, but they do need to be precise in the wording of their rules. When the wording is ambiguous, the only resort is to scrutinize the grammar to glean some insight into the intent.
Read up on forced movement; it'll tell'ya all forced movement is "up to X".
You are correct...
Page 285, PHB states, "Distance in Squares: The power you’re using specifies how many squares you can move a target. You can choose to move the target fewer squares or not to move it at all. You can’t move the target vertically."
I must have missed that when I double checked it this morning.
The "can" issue, however, can be important for other powers... For example, most Leader powers that allow a player to use an healing say "can" in order to let the target PC have the option of not using an expendable resource. If that "can" wasn't there, they'd technically be forced to use the healing surge whether they wanted to or not.