Casting a spell inside an Antimagic zone

A magic dead zone is different than an anti magic field.
Any magic that enters or originates in a magic dead zone is nullified.
Enchanted items will still have their enchantments (once they've left the zone) but spells will deactivate as if dispelled, as will potion effects, attempts to activate items, etc.
Keep in mind, however, that a DM can rule in any manner they wish, so long as they remain consistant in their ruling.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Another conundrum for Ye!

If you can cast spells in an Antimagic area, I take it the material components are instantly "consumed" as per usual.

Now, in my game I often describe the consumption of material components as "magically" disappearing in a puff of smoke, or "magically" glowing and then turning to dust.

How will I now describe this when they're "magically" consumed in an Antimagic field?
 
Last edited:

ANTIMAGIC
An antimagic field spell or effect cancels magic altogether.

An antimagic effect has the following powers and characteristics:
• No supernatural ability, spell-like ability, or spell works in an area of antimagic (but extraordinary abilities still work).
• Antimagic does not dispel magic; it suppresses it. Once a magical effect is no longer affected by the antimagic (the antimagic fades, the center of the effect moves away, and so on), the magic returns. Spells that still have part of their duration left begin functioning again, magic items are once again useful, and so forth.
• Spell areas that include both an antimagic area and a normal area, but are not centered in the antimagic area, still function in the normal area. If the spell’s center is in the antimagic area, then the spell is suppressed.


I would say that it would be like this, if a arcane caster cast a spell in an antimagic effect, it would be like he was holding the spell. He may only cast one, and must hold it until released (Concentration Check). I would say he could release it upon exiting the antimagic effect. But if he cast more than one, the first one would be negated/lost, and the second one must be held (Concentration Check).

Per 3.5 SRD at http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=d20/article/srd35
 

dead said:
If you can cast spells in an Antimagic area, I take it the material components are instantly "consumed" as per usual.

Now, in my game I often describe the consumption of material components as "magically" disappearing in a puff of smoke, or "magically" glowing and then turning to dust.

How will I now describe this when they're "magically" consumed in an Antimagic field?
The components are consumed by the magic of the spell.
I you allow a spell to be cast while within an anti magic field, than have the components be consumed when the magic takes effect. Except for the components that must be burned, flung, eaten, destroyed, etc. when casting, of course.

Every DM I've known has always ruled that magic can't be activated from within an anti magic field.
Cast a spell...wasted, (hope you didn't destroy your components).

Any item that carries charges. No effect, no charge lost.
Potions (don't drink more than one) start working after leaving the field, but will have started their duration count-down from the time they were drank.

Items like Ring of Invisibility can't be activated or deactivated within the field. The must be outside the field for the 'toggle' to work. Of course, you could just take the ring off, unless it was cursed.

Cursed items...If you were cursed when you entered, you're cursed when you leave. Just don't be too far away from your cursed sword or helmet when the field deactivates. ¤clang!¤
Can't become cursed by an item, if you or the item are in the field.

That's all I can remember...it's been a while.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top