CRGreathouse
Community Supporter
The ELH's worm that walks is a vermin template; the sample worm that walks has an Int score and loses its mindless trait.
The worm that walks is an ooze, not a vermin - the example given is based on a wizard (humanoid) and not a vermin either. And the special rules explicitly mention the mindless trait (of the new ooze form, not the base creature's type). And the ELH is for 3.0, not 3.5 (I did mention that I'm looking for 3.5 rules, didn't I?)CRGreathouse said:The ELH's worm that walks is a vermin template; the sample worm that walks has an Int score and loses its mindless trait.
Flyspeck23 said:The worm that walks is an ooze, not a vermin - the example given is based on a wizard (humanoid) and not a vermin either. And the special rules explicitly mention the mindless trait (of the new ooze form, not the base creature's type). And the ELH is for 3.0, not 3.5 (I did mention that I'm looking for 3.5 rules, didn't I?)
Nice try, though. For a moment I though: "that's it!" - but then I opened my ELH![]()
Abilities: Same as the base creature, but Intelligence is at least 3.
Flyspeck23 said:OTOH, a celestial creature retains its HD - take a look at the MM 3.5, p. 31: the celestial lion still has d8 as hit dice. And BAB likewise doesn't increase (it's +3, but a magical beast of 5 hd should have BAB +5). Arguably, saves don't change as well (good saves for animals and magical beasts are the same, so the celestial lion doesn't show any changes or lack thereof).
HD, BAB and saves are traits too - but these don't change, while mindless (another trait) does?
FireLance said:Actually, HD type, BAB, saves and skill points are features, not traits, and they do not change when you apply the Celestial or Fiendish template. The SRD on applying templates states "Unless a template indicates otherwise, the new creature has the traits of the new type but the features of the original type."
Sorry, my fault. You're absolutely correct.FireLance said:Actually, HD type, BAB, saves and skill points are features, not traits, and they do not change when you apply the Celestial or Fiendish template. The SRD on applying templates states "Unless a template indicates otherwise, the new creature has the traits of the new type but the features of the original type."
A very good point. It should get feats and that would be a "fair trade".DrSpunj said:I think this statement (also appearing on MM pg. 291 under the Size and Type heading) is pretty explicit: such a creature loses the Vermin Traits and picks up the Magical Beast Traits.
Now, I didn't realize it this afternoon as I glanced at this thread, but this very question came up for me tonight trying to prep a couple SM III options for a not-so-BBEG for my game tomorrow night. In statting out a Fiendish Huge Monstrous Centipede I ran into the same conundrum as Flyspeck23. Because of the quote from FireLance above I removed the Vermin Traits and gave it an Intelligence score of 3. After taking a mental step back and looking things over, since it now has an Intelligence score I figured it should get Feats now, right? So it's 6 HD allowed me to choose 3 feats for the beastie.
I don't know if that makes a difference to you, Flyspeck23, but I figure that's a fair trade (Vermin/mindless vs 3 Feats) and now don't feel like I'm weakening the creature any by adding the template. YMMV.
Whoa. .......Good point!DrSpunj said:....After taking a mental step back and looking things over, since it now has an Intelligence score I figured it should get Feats now, right? So it's 6 HD allowed me to choose 3 feats for the beastie.