Chill Touch Spell

Lichemaster

Explorer
I was looking at the Chill Touch spell.

It says targets 1/level. In the description it says "You can use this melee touch attack up to one time per level" Does this mean after casting it it lasts for, in my case, 5 melee rounds?? Or can I touch someone 5 times in one melee? This seems pretty powerful, but it only gets good when you reach higher levels, which should make it stronger. Just wondering, cause I was thinking of making a wand of Chill Touch, and using my Spectral Hand spell for delivery.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

On the round of casting you can only have 1 touch attack but on the following round you can have as many touch attacks as you have normal attacks. So if you have a BAB of +6 you can have a second attack like normal at +1 in the same round
 

You can make one touch attack for each attack per round that your BA allows assuming you take the appropriate action to do so. Works like this.

Example Character: Fighter 4/Wizard 4. BA +6/+1. Chill Touches per casting: 4. Assume all attacks hit.

Round 1: Cast Chill Touch and make one touch attack against a target in reach. Hit and do appropriate damage. 3 touches remain.

Round 2: Take the Full Attack action against the same target. delivering two touches, one at +6, the other at +1. Hit and do appropriate damage. 1 touch remains.

Round 3: Take an Attack action against the target, discharging the last touch. The character at this point still has a move action that they can do. Alternatly, they can take the Full Attack action, discharge the touch and attacking with whatever weapon they have at hand (or punch, if nothing else) but doing so will incur all the standard two-weapon fighting penalties.
 

It means you can use it 5 times. Each use requires a melee touch attack, although you can deliver it to 5 willing subjects as a full round action but that's highly unlikely to occur.

I'm not entirely convinced that a spell from a wand is the same a casting it yourself as the description states. But I'll let wiser guys be the judge on that.
 

Thanks people, I thought it worked that way.But how long would it last once cast?
Until he made an attack? even if he cast it hours ago?
By the way the character is a monk1/wizard5
 

Lichemaster said:
Thanks people, I thought it worked that way.But how long would it last once cast?
Until he made an attack? even if he cast it hours ago?

Well ...

SRD said:
Holding the Charge: If you don’t discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the discharge of the spell (hold the charge) indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren’t considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. (If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack doesn’t provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack.) If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge.
 

Yeah, no go on the wand thing - the wand is casting the spell, not the character, which is why it uses the wand's caster level, doesn't benefit from the character's stat mods and feats, and so on.


As for duration, yeah it lasts until discharged or you do something to dissipate it such as casting another spell. PHB p176 "Touch Spells and Holding the Charge" for details. Also to note, that until used up your hand is wreathed in a glowing blue nimbus of negative energy... so it's not too useful as a magic joy-buzzer substitute even if the target doesn't see you cast the spell.


As for the monk/wizard thing? Cool. Means you can deliver your touch attacks as monk-brand unarmed blows if you so desire, but in that case it's a normal attack roll rather than a touch attack.
 


Fundin Strongarm said:
Looks like is doesn't discharge. Your DM could house rule it so that it disappates at, say, a rate of 1 touch per hour so that after 5 hours the spell is gone.

Bad idea since a) it goes away when you cast a(nother) spell, and b) it would limit usefulness, and finally c) there's no need for such a restriction since you'd obvious touch something or someone at some point.
 
Last edited:

Wizard: *hand still shedding blue light* Hey cool, looks like I've still got some juice left in my spell even though the fight's done.

Fighter: Nice. How long will it last?

Wizard: Until I use it, basically. Or let it slip away so I can cast another spell.

Cleric: Cool.

Wizard: ...you know what, will you excuse me for a sec? Now that my blood's not pumping so hard, that coffee from earlier is starting to catch up on me. Be right back. *troops off into the bushes a ways, hand-glow dimly obscured*

Cleric: *looks after the wizard, then back to the fighter* Uh... is he...?

Fighter: *looking down at the ground* Yep.

Wizard: *slightly muffled scream*
 

Remove ads

Top