Class Acts: Seeker and Infinite Damage

Storm pillar has been updated:
Compendium said:
Each enemy that moves into a square adjacent to the pillar on its turn takes 1d6 + your Intelligence modifier lightning damage. [emphasis mine]
I'm fairly certain that there is no rules weight between the terms "moves into" versus "enters" - this change was made to prevent forced-movement abuse, and in my experience there's no consistency to which sorts of powers use which wordings that would support a deliberate mechanical decision behind that choice.

...but it is a distinction established by the rules.
I don't believe this is the case. Can you provide a citation for where the rules explicitly distinguish between "moves into" and "enters"?
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Storm pillar says each enemy that "moves" into a square, not "enters".

Force movement triggers "enters".

It's a poor distinction (which is why a lot of powers say "willingly moves"), but it is a distinction established by the rules.

Forced movement is movement - even teleportation is movement. Both teleportation and forced movement don't provoke opportunity actions - a rule that's only meaningful because they're movement.

When an enemy is forced to move into a square, he's moving into a square. When a creature teleports into a square, he's moving into a square. In both cases storm pillar would trigger - but it's not an easy trick to pull of in the creatures turn. If you or an ally have interrupts that include teleportation or forced movement, this might be a situational but valid tactic - say, a fighter with shield push, or a shielding swordmage with transposing lunge.
 


Remove ads

Top