Clockwork Cowl

The daily power for Clockwork Cowl states. . . "Gain two extra standard actions that cannot be used as attacks."

What exactly constitutes an attack again?
Can someone us this item's power, that is, use an "extra standard action," to use a power such as, Direct the Strike?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

An attack consists of either:

-Any power that includes an attack roll; or
-Any attack power that has a target.

So a utility that involves an attack roll counts as making an attack. Magic Missile has no attack roll, but is an attack power with a target, and counts as making an attack. And, thus, Direct the Strike and other 'commands' also count as making attacks, even though the target of the attack power is your ally.
 



Storm Pillar doesn't. RC requires an attack roll or a target for something to be "an attack." Which agrees with PHB FAQ 38. "Attack Power" is insufficient (Stances, etc., are not attacks).
 

Ah, I stand corrected, apologies for the erroneous info. :blush:

And just because I'm a completist, the relevant line in FAQ 38 is:
...using an attack power like the fighter's rain of steel does not count as making an attack, since the power has neither a target line nor an attack line.
So basically, to be an attack, it looks like the power needs to have a target entry, or an attack entry. Handy to know.
 

The current definition of an 'attack' from the comprehendium:
Glossary said:
Attack
An attack roll and its effects, including any damage rolls. The word “attack” is sometimes used as shorthand for “attack power.” Some attack powers include multiple attacks, and some powers, such as magic missile, are designated as attacks yet lack attack rolls (using such a power counts as making an attack if the power has a target).
 

The word “attack” is sometimes used as shorthand for “attack power.”
The presence of this wording in the glossary just confuses the issue again and implies that any power labelled 'Attack' is an attack power. (and therefore implies storm pillar is an attack power.)

I do appreciate that other information may contradict or supercede this but really, how many different places do they expect us to visit?

I believe that if WotC are going to publish clarifications, they should make sure that the language provided in the compendium agrees with the clarification.
 

Um yeah...WotC really need to tighten that up. Didn't even occur to me to look in the PHB FAQ, and for all I know there's some other source out there that says something completely different. Or not. :confused:
 

As an aside to the specific wording of what constitutes an attack for the purposes of this item's restrictions, it's worth noting that in specific to the OP's example, you could only use Direct the Strike if you directed it on two different people, due to the limitation on free action attacks (1/turn).
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top