Clubhouse: The Shearing Pen

Haman chose to fall prone because he wanted to take a full attack while flying, which meant he could not use any movement for flying, hence he stalled and fell. You might have missed the fact that Haman was flying.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

To confirm: creatures can occupy the space in the VZ where there is a pillar with no ill effects due to its small size, correct? i.e. there is no need to squeeze if a creature (of any size) stands at 80n40e.

Could a medium or smaller creature stand at 80n40e and use the pillar as cover?
 

The pillar only has a one foot diameter, so it is negligible for squeezing and has very little cover value, only when the opponent is diagonally on the opposite side of the pillar.
 

Gansk, do you envision there being a combatant-audible telepathic "chime" one round before draw or concession? I'm trying to think of how it should be from the character sense - particularly if we get into a low Int creature that wouldn't reasonably be counting off the seconds since it last was on the shiny metal place.

Or maybe it's worth just handwaving, if that'd be less problematic and more fun.
 

I would handwave, I was reminding people because the VZ rules are fairly new and not foremost in someone's mind when they are conducting strategy.
 

I tell ya, I'm loving the BoAA for how much I'm learning about the game, esp since the last campaign I GM'd has been inactive since my son was born over 2 years ago.

Thank you again to Gansk, PJSlavner, Infiniti2K and the others that are keeping this thing going and vital.
 



I would like to take full credit for Gansk and PJS' rules expertise - if not for me missing, forgetting, or misinterpreting a rule every second round, they would be FAR less knowledgeable.

I'm still getting a sick joy of firing off clips of LE monsters into the, er, abyss...don't think I'll have the stamina for another full go-round...though you never know what you'll miss until you miss it.

Now if I could only play for real again, I'd be able to tell how much I haven't learned. ;)
 

Okay, new rules question:

What happens if your high level Sorcerer decides to layer on 5 mirror image spells prior to combat?

"The same spell can sometimes produce varying effects if applied to the same recipient more than once. Usually the last spell in the series trumps the others. None of the previous spells are actually removed or dispelled, but their effects become irrelevant while the final spell in the series lasts."

It seems that the number of active images of the last spell cast would be active as long as the spell duration goes on. That part's easy. The next part is the tough one: is mirror image considered to end as soon as the last image is destroyed? If so, then as soon as Spell N's images are destroyed, Spell N-1 pops up and is active. If not, then the caster has to take a Std action to dismiss Spell N before Spell N-1 will pop up.

Play balance-wise the first option is pretty scary. Five layers will give you 25-40 images or so with opponents having to get rid of 5-8 each round just to get a clear shot at the target underneath.

The second option is slightly better than casting the new mirror-image on the spot, since Dismissing a spell doesn't provoke an AoO.

So since I can interpret the rules either way, I'd suggest going with option #2. It does mean there are some odd useless dweomers around the target, which might confuse an arcane-visioned viewer, but otherwise is simpler.

any other thoughts out there?
 

Remove ads

Top