Combat Expertise at range

Coredump

Explorer
You can 'attack' 'empty space' in order to activate Combat Expertise.

When you perform a full attack, you can mix ranged and melee attacks.

So, an archer with 4 attacks could 'attack' 'empty space' next to him as a melee attack, and activate Combat Expertise. Thus his next 3 attacks, all ranged attacks, would benefit from CE.

So, does this get around the 'in melee combat' line in CE? (granted, it costs him an attack...)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Coredump said:
You can 'attack' 'empty space' in order to activate Combat Expertise.
That's a big assumption that I don't think is supported in the rules. I don't disagree with it (as you could attempt to attack into a square that you think harbors an invisible opponent), but "fake attacking" is something else entirely.

Coredump said:
When you perform a full attack, you can mix ranged and melee attacks.
Agreed, with some caveats.

Coredump said:
So, an archer with 4 attacks could 'attack' 'empty space' next to him as a melee attack, and activate Combat Expertise. Thus his next 3 attacks, all ranged attacks, would benefit from CE.

So, does this get around the 'in melee combat' line in CE? (granted, it costs him an attack...)
I don't think so, because CE specifically states: "When you use the attack action or the full attack action in melee..." In this example, you are not using the full attack action in melee, you're using the full attack action in melee and ranged. That's using your first assumption from above. If it were to mean what you say it means, I'd think it would be written something like, "When you make a melee attack..." That way, it would not limit the rest of your full attack. I think the current wording of CE limits the full attack action to melee attacks.
 

We have a definition of when someone is in melee.

From the Combat chapter of the PHB:
Two characters are engaged in melee if they are enemies of each other and either threatens the other. (An unconscious or otherwise immobilized character is not considered engaged unless he is actually being attacked.)

I have a longsword. The orc has a greataxe. We're 5 feet apart. We're engaged in melee - I threaten the orc, and the orc threatens me. If I attack the orc with my longsword, I'm taking the attack action in melee combat, so I can use Combat Expertise.

I have a longbow. The orc has a greataxe. We're 5 feet apart. We're engaged in melee - I do not threaten the orc, but the orc threatens me. If I attack the orc with my longbow (provoking an AoO), I'm taking the attack action in melee combat, so I can use Combat Expertise.

I have a longbow. The orc has a greataxe. We're 10 feet apart. We're not engaged in melee - I do not threaten the orc, and the orc does not threaten me. If I attack the orc with my longbow, I'm taking the attack action but I'm not in melee combat, so I cannot use Combat Expertise.

I have a longbow. The orc has a longspear. We're 10 feet apart. We're engaged in melee - I do not threaten the orc, but the orc threatens me. If I attack the orc with my longbow (provoking an AoO), I'm taking the attack action in melee combat, so I can use Combat Expertise.

I am unarmed. The orc is unarmed. We're five feet apart. We're not engaged in melee - I do not threaten the orc, and the orc does not threaten me. If I attack the orc with my unarmed strike, I'm taking the attack action but I'm not in melee combat, so I cannot use Combat Expertise.

-Hyp.
 

There you go again with those pesky definitions, Hyp. :p

*takes a black marker and crosses out 'melee combat' as one of the stupidest definitions in the book*
 


Remove ads

Top