D&D 5E Combat question

Ymdar

Explorer
As a high level multiclass barbarian/fighter + rogue (with the dual wielder feat) if I start a combat round with holding two light (finesse) weapons in each hand, can I use the attack action to attack with one finesse weapon, then as part of two weapon fighting attack with the other finesse weapon as a bonus action (possibly scoring a sneak attack), then dropping said weapons, draw a greatsword and use any remaining extra to fight with this weapon?

OR

As a high level multiclass barbarian/fighter + rogue if I start a combat round with holding a greatsword in hand, making a reckless attack then drop the greatsword, draw two light finesse weapons and use any remaining extra attacks with the light finesse weapon and finish the round with a bonus action light finesse weapon attack using the off hand?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

TwoSix

Unserious gamer
I don't see anything to indicate that both cases wouldn't be totally legal. You're fulfilling the use case for dual-wielding, which is making an attack during the Attack action with a light weapon while holding a different light weapon in the other hand.

There's nothing in the rules prohibiting switching weapons during the Attack action.
 

Rabulias

the Incomparably Shrewd and Clever
As a high level multiclass barbarian/fighter + rogue if I start a combat round with holding a greatsword in hand, making a reckless attack then drop the greatsword, draw two light finesse weapons and use any remaining extra attacks with the light finesse weapon and finish the round with a bonus action light finesse weapon attack using the off hand?
Both instances rankle my sense of cheesiness, but I think they are technically legal. Note in your second scenario (above), you will need a way to draw two weapons at once (like the Dual Wielder feat).
 


lingual

Adventurer
You are technically allowed to do this, but after the first round you will need to pick up a weapon. You can only pick up one weapon for free.

However, to be honest I wouldn't allow this in my game, it's just too silly and I don't allow goofy edge cases.
I suppose having an enemy scoop up the weapon would be a deterrent.
 

Plaguescarred

D&D Playtester for WoTC since 2012
1) It's technically legal as dropping held items doesn't count as an item interaction, it's no action required thus free, much like when releasing a grappled target. The Devs also have said in the past that The intent is that letting go of something requires no appreciable effort. But picking it up does.

2) Also legal due to Dual Welder letting draw or stow two one-handed weapons when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one.

Many DMs just handwave these sort of item interactions and let characters replace weapons by stowing them rather than dropping them on the ground.
 


Mad_Jack

Hero
That's a lot of effort for 1d6 extra potential damage per turn, and also something you're going to want to stop doing once you get a magic weapon.

Yeah, it can be a useful tactic in certain situations (if you absolutely need to drop an opponent on this turn, for example), but definitely not something you'd want to do more than once or twice in a fight - switching weapons in the middle of your turn is generally more useful when changing between melee and ranged weapons, say, killing the guy you're in melee with and then tossing a hand axe or dagger at someone else.
 

FrogReaver

As long as i get to be the frog
1) It's technically legal as dropping held items doesn't count as an item interaction, it's no action required thus free, much like when releasing a grappled target. The Devs also have said in the past that The intent is that letting go of something requires no appreciable effort. But picking it up does.

2) Also legal due to Dual Welder letting draw or stow two one-handed weapons when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one.

Many DMs just handwave these sort of item interactions and let characters replace weapons by stowing them rather than dropping them on the ground.
Dual Wielder doesn't help here does it? If you stow the swords for free then you can't draw the greatsword for free. You must drop the swords and then draw the greatsword. That means you need to pick up both swords and Dual Wielder doesn't help there.
 

ECMO3

Hero
As a high level multiclass barbarian/fighter + rogue (with the dual wielder feat) if I start a combat round with holding two light (finesse) weapons in each hand, can I use the attack action to attack with one finesse weapon, then as part of two weapon fighting attack with the other finesse weapon as a bonus action (possibly scoring a sneak attack), then dropping said weapons, draw a greatsword and use any remaining extra to fight with this weapon?

OR

As a high level multiclass barbarian/fighter + rogue if I start a combat round with holding a greatsword in hand, making a reckless attack then drop the greatsword, draw two light finesse weapons and use any remaining extra attacks with the light finesse weapon and finish the round with a bonus action light finesse weapon attack using the off hand?
my favorite way to optimise something similar is to attack, then TWF attack, then stow one weapon and attack again using dueling +2 to damage. Then next turn do it in reverse order (dueling attack, draw weapon, attack, TWF bonus action attack).
 

my favorite way to optimise something similar is to attack, then TWF attack, then stow one weapon and attack again using dueling +2 to damage. Then next turn do it in reverse order (dueling attack, draw weapon, attack, TWF bonus action attack).
You can, but you actually lose 0.5 damage and your bonus action. I'd rather have a shield.
 
Last edited:

jgsugden

Legend
One of the PCs did something similar in one of my games during a fight in the town square. After the PC maneuvered a bit away, one of the local thugs in town ran out i nthe battlefield, grabbed the visibly highly magical weapon on the ground and ran off with it. They caught him before he could fence it, but it was a moent for the group.

There was also a time when a PC dropped their brand new magic bow to draw a melee weapon - on (essentially) a rope bridge - over lava. I stopped to confirm - "You're on a rope bridge that isn't sturdy - do you really want to switch to a new weapon and drop that bow?" They said yes. They ... didn't think about the dropping part - they were focused on whether they'd fall in the lava themself.

There are mechanics, and then there is story. Sometimes doing something for a pure mechanical advantage is going to open the door for a story related situation to develop. Don't be purely punitive in looking to 'reprimand' PCs - but don't ignore what would happen when people start to do real weird stuff.
 

Plaguescarred

D&D Playtester for WoTC since 2012
Dual Wielder doesn't help here does it? If you stow the swords for free then you can't draw the greatsword for free. You must drop the swords and then draw the greatsword. That means you need to pick up both swords and Dual Wielder doesn't help there.
My reference to the Dual Wielder was regarding the second part of the OP, which never stow the greatsword but drop it.

The feat thus help in that you can drop the greatsword for free and draw two light finesse weapons and attack with them.
 

FrogReaver

As long as i get to be the frog
My reference to the Dual Wielder was regarding the second part of the OP, which never stow the greatsword but drop it.

The feat thus help in that you can drop the greatsword for free and draw two light finesse weapons and attack with them.
That covers round 1 assuming you have the great sword out before combat starts (typical enough). But subsequent rounds you aren’t allowed to stow your weapons then pick up the great sword? Right?
 
Last edited:


Rabulias

the Incomparably Shrewd and Clever
That covers round 1 assuming you have the great sword out before combat starts (typical enough). But subsequent rounds you aren’t allowed to stow your weapons then pick up the great sword? Right?
Correct, but I don't think Ymdar is looking for a repeatable strategy round-to-round, just a one round benefit.
 


Plaguescarred

D&D Playtester for WoTC since 2012
That covers round 1 assuming you have the great sword out before combat starts (typical enough). But subsequent rounds you aren’t allowed to stow your weapons then pick up the great sword? Right?
Yes but the OP never indicated any repitition. He could always drop the two light weapons for free, Pick up the greatsword and attack with it.
 

Yes but the OP never indicated any repitition. He could always drop the two light weapons for free, Pick up the greatsword and attack with it.
You can do it if nobody kicks away your weapons, or interferes with them, but it's not worthwhile unless you think it looks cool. You're not gaining damage compared to the alternative, and you're tying up your bonus action. I can see someone trying to do it if they thought it was more damage, but it's not. Most of the time it's LESS damage, or almost exactly the same amount of damage, depending on your feats and fighting styles.

If someone wanted to do it, I would let them and not even argue about it. The emperor has a new set of clothes. Let them be happy with their cool self.
 
Last edited:


An Advertisement

Advertisement4

Top