Command, 4 rounds!

Xarlen

First Post
Okay, I have a question regarding metamagic, but FIRST I want to know if this rule is allowed.

Has it been announced if you can stack Metamagical effects of the same type onto eachother? For example, Twice Empowered for a x2 effect, for +4 level slot.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad


You can, but you would not get +4 but x3 on Empower. Remember how stacking works. Plus, when you stack metamagic feats, you still use the original spell as the base to determine what you get, i.e a Fireball (Empower) (Empower) would be a 7th level spell for most casters, and cast at 13th level, it would do 10d6 +5d6 +5d6 =20d6. Still has a 3rd level DC by the book.
 

That is the current ruling. Remember that it is always based on the base spell. So if you double empowered something it wouldn't necessarily double the results. say for instance that you had a double empowered fireball that did 27 points of damage it would do 53 points of damage and not 54 because of the rounding, minor but important to understand.
 

Kaji said:
You can, but you would not get +4 but x3 on Empower. Remember how stacking works. Plus, when you stack metamagic feats, you still use the original spell as the base to determine what you get, i.e a Fireball (Empower) (Empower) would be a 7th level spell for most casters, and cast at 13th level, it would do 10d6 +5d6 +5d6 =20d6. Still has a 3rd level DC by the book.

Just a clarification empower doesn't changed the number of dice your role, it modifies the final result.
 

Well, here's the question.

Extend spell makes a spell last twice as long as normal. +1 spell slot.

Let's say I take Ice storm, 1 round spell, 4th level spell. I Extend it to 2 rounds.

Can I then add another Extend, making it last 4 rounds?
 

Xarlen said:
Well, here's the question.

Extend spell makes a spell last twice as long as normal. +1 spell slot.

Let's say I take Ice storm, 1 round spell, 4th level spell. I Extend it to 2 rounds.

Can I then add another Extend, making it last 4 rounds?

You can't extend Ice storm, it has a duration of instananeous.

However let us say it did have a duration of one round. Extended once it would have a duration of two round, extended twice it would have a duration of three rounds. Always go back to the base spell.
 

Jumping on the Oni bandwagon

Just want to emphasize Oni's point about not being able to use all metamagic on all spells, like Extend on Instaneous spells. You'd end up with way over the top effects that would hurt your game balance.
 

Dang, I was thinking of the D20 Modern spell:

Ice Storm
Evocation [Cold]
Level: Arcane 4; Components: V, S, M; Casting Time: Attack action; Range: Long (400 ft. + 40 ft./level); Area: Cylinder (20-ft. radius, 40 ft. high); Duration: 1 round; Saving Throw: None; Spell Resistance: Yes
Hail falls for one full round, dealing 3d6 points of bludgeoning damage and 2d6 points of cold damage to creatures in their path. Listen checks made within the ice storm’s effect take a –4 penalty, and all ground movement within its area is at half speed. At the end of the duration, the hail disappears, leaving no aftereffects (other than the damage inflicted).
 


Remove ads

Top