log in or register to remove this ad

 

5E Common rules mistakes

Staffan

Adventurer
So, the PHB has been out for 5-6 months or so by now. What are some of the more common rules mistakes/misconceptions/questions that have come up in that time? I'll start with some:

* You can't combine casting a spell as a bonus action with casting another spell in the same round, unless the other spell is a cantrip. So a sorcerer can't use Quicken Spell to cast two fireballs in the same round.

* If your character has multiple ways of calculating base AC, you only get to use one. Usually you use the best, but sometimes the existence of one method (usually wearing armor) precludes using other methods. So a monk/barbarian could either calculate AC as 10 + Dex + Con or 10 + Dex + Wis, but not 10 + Dex + Con + Wis. If he puts on a suit of studded leather, he can't use either class ability anymore, and instead gets 12 + Dex.

* Subraces are not variants on the standard race. If you belong to a race that has subraces, you get all the traits both of the basic race and of the subrace.

* Totem Warrior Barbarians can choose different totems at each of 3rd, 6th, and 14th level. So you could have resistance to non-psychic damage from the 3rd level Bear totem ability, and round-by-round flying speed from the 14th level Eagle totem ability.

* Unlike the similar abilities for clerics, druids of the land, and paladins, warlocks do not automatically add their expanded spells based on their patron to their list of prepared/known spells. They simply get the ability to choose them as part of their normal spell progression.

Any others that people have found?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Remathilis

Legend
Similar to the Totem Warrior, Hunter Rangers don't have to stick to Horde-breaker or Giant Killer options.

Warlocks DO get 6th-9th level spells, but they're part of the mystic arcanum rather than spell slot system.
 


DaveDash

Explorer
If you ready a spell you must concentrate on it, even if it's not normally a concentration spell.

Likewise if you ready an action to attack, and you have multiple attacks, you're readied action on triggers one attack.

Disintegrate doesn't do half damage on a save.
 


questing gm

First Post
A great thread! May I suggest that each post should be followed with sources of where they find their rulings? It would make the learning process much easier than to flip around pages to look for their justifications.
 

Most mistakes I or my fellow players have done have to do with carry-over thinking from previous editions:

The only action that provokes attacks of opportunity is moving out of hostile reach of a nearby enemy. (PHB, Pg. 195) Casting a spell in melee does not, using a ranged weapon in melee does not, standing up from prone does not.

You (and monsters) can break up movement however you wish during your turn. (PHB Pg.190) Move-attack-move is fair game.

You must have proficiency in a Saving Throw to get your proficiency bonus to that saving throw. (PHB, pg. 12) Otherwise, it's just 1d20+ability modifier. Each class begins with proficiency in only two types, and it is very difficult to gain proficiency in more types. (Resilient feat gives you proficiency in 1 ability.)

Some of the old rules in previous editions are "optional" rules in the dungeon master's guide. For example, the old "Flanking" rules are now optional, and are found in the DMG, pg. 251.

"Taking 10" in 5th edition is the same as "taking 10" or "taking 20" in previous editions. If there's no repercussions for failure, you will succeed on any check that you spend 10 times as long on. (DMG, Pg.237)
 

ProphetSword

Explorer
Some have come up during our play sessions that I find interesting:

* You cannot take an opportunity attack against a creature that you cannot see. (PHB, Pg.195)

* A round of combat has several "turns" in it. Each creature gets their own turn. (PHB, Pg.189)

* A Rogue's sneak attack ability can be triggered more than once per round, as it is only limited to once per *turn* (see above) (PHB, Pg.96) So, the Rogue can sneak on his turn, and on another turn (for example, when reacting with an opportunity attack during a creature's turn).

* If neither side of a group of combatants is attempting to be stealthy, there is no chance that either side will be surprised. (PHB, Pg.189)

* If you ready an action, the action trigger completes before you can react to it. So, if you say that you will ready an attack against a caster if he casts a spell, you do not attack until after the caster completes the spell. (DMG, Pg.252)
 

Gecko85

Explorer
* Subraces are not variants on the standard race. If you belong to a race that has subraces, you get all the traits both of the basic race and of the subrace.
That I didn't realize. I don't have my PHB handy...Can you provide the page number so I can look it up later? Thanks.
 

Paraxis

Explorer
* Subraces are not variants on the standard race. If you belong to a race that has subraces, you get all the traits both of the basic race and of the subrace.

That I didn't realize. I don't have my PHB handy...Can you provide the page number so I can look it up later? Thanks.

I don't see how can there be confusion on this issue? It clearly says you choose a subrace, what other way would this work? Did people think High Elves don't have darkvision and a +2 to Dex? Of Course they do they are elves.

Now human variant isn't a subrace just to be clear, but yeah every dwarf is either hill or mountain and they all get darkvision and a bonus to Con.
 

mach1.9pants

Adventurer
* If your character has multiple ways of calculating base AC, you only get to use one. Usually you use the best, but sometimes the existence of one method (usually wearing armor) precludes using other methods. So a monk/barbarian could either calculate AC as 10 + Dex + Con or 10 + Dex + Wis, but not 10 + Dex + Con + Wis. If he puts on a suit of studded leather, he can't use either class ability anymore, and instead gets 12 + Dex.
Not quite. A Barbarian that multiclasses into Mok does not get the Unamored Defence quality again. So they don;t get to choose just stick with their first class.
PHB Page 164 said:
]f you already have the Unarmored Defense feature, you can't gain it again from another class.

Most mistakes I or my fellow players have done have to do with carry-over thinking from previous editions:

The only action that provokes attacks of opportunity is moving out of hostile reach of a nearby enemy. (PHB, Pg. 195) Casting a spell in melee does not, using a ranged weapon in melee does not, standing up from prone does not.
Also if you take the disengage action ALL your movement that turn does not provoke AOO. So it is not just the enemies you are initially disengaging from but you negate all AAOs that turn. This came up for us with a Rogue's bonus Dash action.
You (and monsters) can break up movement however you wish during your turn. (PHB Pg.190) Move-attack-move is fair game.
Also, you can split it up move-action-move-bonus action-move, e.g. a level 5 Ftr can move-attack-move-attack-move.
That I didn't realize. I don't have my PHB handy...Can you provide the page number so I can look it up later? Thanks.
Well it is every class write up. If one of the races traits is subrace, that is a trait of all that race. Subrace is listed in the same way as darkvision or age or alignment.
PHB Pg 17 said:
Some races have subraces. Members of a subrace have the traits of the parent race in addition to the traits specified for lheir subrace.
 




Paraxis

Explorer
Very interesting I did not notice that about readied attack actions before. It is weird that as a spell a warlock could ready eldritch blast and get all the attacks but an archer could not, because there is no wording in eldritch blast that limits it to "on your turn". This just made me think, I need to look for exploits that could let me eldritch blast multiple times in a round.
 

DaveDash

Explorer
Well, how about that? :eek:

Yeah. It's buried obscurely in the wording of the Extra Attack action.

"Whenever you take the attack action on your turn".

I have made that mistake myself and had it pointed out to me on the forums. :)

Another couple:
No reactions during surprise round if you're surprised (so no popping Shield if you're surprised).
Surprise grants movement, an action, and a bonus action (unlike previous editions).
 
Last edited:


BoldItalic

First Post
No reactions during surprise round if you're surprised (so no popping Shield if you're surprised).
Surprise grants movement, an action, and a bonus action (unlike previous editions).

That's another common misconception, because in 5e there is no such thing as a surprise round.

No-one gains actions from surprise, but some may lose out by being surprised.

Being surprised merely prevents a creature doing anything during its move/action turn in the first round. It can affect some, all or none or the creatures present regardless of which side they are on. It's not that one side gets an extra round, it's that some creatures must do nothing on their first turn.

Also, you can take reactions in the first round even if you are surprised, but not until after the end of your do-nothing turn.

PHB, p.189
 
Last edited:

Redthistle

Explorer
WHAT!! You can multiclass into Mok? You mean I can play Ookla in 5E? WHEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!

Let me get this straight: You mock mach1 for the typo "Mok" (s/b "Monk") and then apply it to bring in a class (or race?) from a different rpg?

I suspect, ExploderWizard, that the Fiendish Old One is seeking to subvert you over to the Warlock-y side of magic.

Whatever the case, I admire your twisted meta-gaming AOO way of thinking, and may your sense of humor keep your table in laughter and "pun"-ishing groans.
 

Gecko85

Explorer
I don't see how can there be confusion on this issue? It clearly says you choose a subrace, what other way would this work? Did people think High Elves don't have darkvision and a +2 to Dex? Of Course they do they are elves.

Now human variant isn't a subrace just to be clear, but yeah every dwarf is either hill or mountain and they all get darkvision and a bonus to Con.
Makes sense. I'm not playing a subrace so haven't really looked at them. Sounded like there was some confusion, so was wanting to know where in the PHB that might be coming from.
 

Advertisement2

Advertisement4

Top