Confused about AoO's on mages

A sorcerer is standing right next to an ettin (a monster with reach). The sorcere moves 30 ft., then casts a spell.

What triggers an AoO from the ettin? If the ettin hits, does it interfere with spellcasting?

The Spectrum Rider
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The Spectrum Rider said:
A sorcerer is standing right next to an ettin (a monster with reach). The sorcere moves 30 ft., then casts a spell.

What triggers an AoO from the ettin? If the ettin hits, does it interfere with spellcasting?

The Spectrum Rider

The sorceror, IIRC, triggers not one but TWO AoO's form teh ettin.

His first 5' of movement is within the Ettin's threatened area (the Ettin is size large,and has a 10' innate reach). Since he's moving more than 5' this round, that triggers an AoO.

His second 5' of movement is exiting a threatened space, which triggers another AoO (if the ettin can make more than one AoO a round, the sorceror is in BIG trouble ...).

When he casts his spell ... he is (presumably) no longer threatened by theEttin; theEttin gets no AoO for the spellcasting. Assuming the sorceror is still even BREATHING at this point, he needs to make no rolls or checks to cast the spell successfully.
 

A sorcerer is standing right next to an ettin (a monster with reach). The sorcere moves 30 ft., then casts a spell.

What triggers an AoO from the ettin? If the ettin hits, does it interfere with spellcasting?

In 3E, leaving a threatened area provokes an AoO. The exceptions are a/ you're taking a 5' step, or b/ moving is all you're doing for the round, in which case the space you start in is not threatened.

Since moving is not all you're doing for the round, your movement provokes an AoO. Assuming you survive, you move 30 feet and then cast a spell unhindered.

In 3.5, leaving a threatened area provokes an AoO. The exceptions are a/ you're taking a 5' step, or b/ you're taking the Withdraw action.

Since neither of those apply, you suffer an AoO when you move. Assuming you survive, you move 30 feet and then cast unhindered.

-----

If the Ettin doesn't take the first opportunity (since he doesn't have Combat Reflexes), and you somehow move in such a way that you still end up in his threatened space, and you don't cast defensively, your casting provokes an AoO. If he hits, this time it could disrupt your spell.

-Hyp.
 

Probably a better idea to cast on the defensive, and take a 5-foot-step, in order to hopefully escape his reach next round.
 

Re: Re: Confused about AoO's on mages

Pax said:


The sorceror, IIRC, triggers not one but TWO AoO's form teh ettin.

His first 5' of movement is within the Ettin's threatened area (the Ettin is size large,and has a 10' innate reach). Since he's moving more than 5' this round, that triggers an AoO.

His second 5' of movement is exiting a threatened space, which triggers another AoO (if the ettin can make more than one AoO a round, the sorceror is in BIG trouble ...).

When he casts his spell ... he is (presumably) no longer threatened by theEttin; theEttin gets no AoO for the spellcasting. Assuming the sorceror is still even BREATHING at this point, he needs to make no rolls or checks to cast the spell successfully.

The sorcerer does trigger the 'leaving a threatened area' condition twice, but:
Moving out of more than one square threatened by the same opponent in the same round doesn’t count as more than one opportunity for that opponent.

So only 1 AoO is provoked..

Probably a better idea to cast on the defensive, and take a 5-foot-step, in order to hopefully escape his reach next round.

Risking a full attack from the ettin if you do that. Ouch
 
Last edited:

Ahh, but would the Ettin get 2 AoOs because of the weird ettin rules (for purposes of attacking its considered two creatures)? I think I'd give it two, but that's the mean DM side of me talking.
 

ThirdWizard said:
Ahh, but would the Ettin get 2 AoOs because of the weird ettin rules (for purposes of attacking its considered two creatures)? I think I'd give it two, but that's the mean DM side of me talking.

I think one:

Superior Two-Weapon Fighting (Ex): An ettin fights with a morningstar or javelin in each hand. Because each of its two heads controls an arm, the ettin does not take a penalty on attack or damage rolls for attacking with two weapons.
Skills: An ettin’s two heads give it a +2 racial bonus on Listen, Spot, and Search checks.

It takes no penalty for two-weapon fighting, but it is not given a bonus to AoOs. It would be reasonable to do so, certainly, but I think I would not.

You could compare this to Hydras, who have a special Combat Reflexes that allows them to use each head on AoOs.
 

Re: Re: Confused about AoO's on mages

Pax said:



When he casts his spell ... he is (presumably) no longer threatened by theEttin; theEttin gets no AoO for the spellcasting. Assuming the sorceror is still even BREATHING at this point, he needs to make no rolls or checks to cast the spell successfully.

THis is not the case.

If you move out of a threantened space and then perform a action other than a move, they get a AoO.

Moving 10' out of a threatened space and then casting a spell draws a AoO from any foe that was threatening you.
 

Re: Re: Re: Confused about AoO's on mages

Moving 10' out of a threatened space and then casting a spell draws a AoO from any foe that was threatening you.

Yes... except the AoO has already happened, because it was the move that provoked it. By the time he casts the spell, the Ettin has already had (and probably taken) his chance at an AoO.

-Hyp.
 

I seem to recall that you only get 1 AoO per opponent in any given round. I don't have my books with me, but I do know that if some critter runs past my monk that has Combat Reflexes thru 3 threatened squares, my monk only gets one AoO on it.

So for the wizard it would be to his advantage to move first to provoke the AoO then cast instead of casting in place to provoke the AoO and possibly mess up his spell.
 

Remove ads

Top