Countering Full Round Spells

Quasqueton

First Post
Say a mage is casting a full round spell (like Summon Monster). Can an enemy mage use Dispel Magic (or SM) to counter it without a readied action?

Round 1, initiative count 20: Mage begins casting SM.

Round 1, initiative count 10: Enemy mage IDs the spell being cast (with Spellcraft). Can he now use a DM to counter the SM?

Quasqueton
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Good question. :)

I'd probably allow it, since the rules are worded very similar for readying to counterspell and readying to distract (i.e. damage following concentration), and we all know that you are likewise distracted, if you take damage during a 1 round casting time spellcasting attempt.

Bye
Thanee
 

If the DM doesn't want to allow it, the Dispelling Wizard could always ready an action (or delay) to Dispel the Summoned creature as soon as it appears (and before it has made an attack).

I wouldn't allow Counterspelling with the same spell other than at the beginning of the casting of the spell, though.

AR
 

I think as long as the action has been readied by the time the spell is to go off, then you can counterspell it with a dispel magic.

If it were a spell with a long casting time (10 minutes or something), you could wander in 9 minutes after it started, make a spellcraft roll, then ready your dispel magic until it is supposed to go off.

But you can't counterspell it; you don't have enough time.
 



The problem with counterspelling with another Summon Monster is the casting time. You won't have it ready to counter the opponent's summon spell unless you have it readied.

The Mage has begun casting summon monster, you begin castign the counterspell, the summon monster appears & it attacks, you finish the counterspell...oops.

The only real problem I forsee with Readying is that a Readied action can only be a standard, move, or free action. Summon Monster being full-round to cast, I don't think it's possible even to ready it. In effect, this about makes counterspelling a summon monster spell nigh impossible.
 

No.

It would make those spells almost useless.

"Look, he's still casting! Now I have all the time in the world countering the spell, for I don't need to ready an action for it"
 

KaeYoss said:
No.

It would make those spells almost useless.

"Look, he's still casting! Now I have all the time in the world countering the spell, for I don't need to ready an action for it"

There are various prestige class abilities that already give this option (counter spelling as a free action, move action, standard action...etc), so I would also have to say: no. If you have not readied an action to Counterspell, then you don't get to do it. You can, however, distract the caster by dropping a Fireball on him before the spell is complete. That takes care of most arcane casters.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top