Counterspelling: What is the correct procedure?

EarthsShadow

First Post
I am just wondering what the real procedure is for counterspelling spells. I am in a argument with a friend as to the exact application of how it functions, so I am wondering if any rules laywers out there can just answer it for us.

Thanks to all who offer advice and help.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I may be wrong, since we actually use counterspells quite rarely...

To counter a spell S you must cast an appropriate counterspell CS exactly at the same time the spell S is cast.

1) READY casting a spell against a spellcaster "as soon as he starts casting a spell"

2) when the opponent triggers your ready action, you get a Spellcraft check (if you are trained in that skill, free action, DC 15 + S's level) to identify the spell being cast. If the check is succesful, you know which is the spell is being cast

3) you perform your readied action, and you cast an appropriate counterspell CS. A spell is a counterspell for the spell S if it is either the SAME spell, or a spell which is specifically quoted to "counter S" in its PHB description

4) the spell S is effectively negated by CS before any effects happen: neither S nor CS have any effects at all

Further notes:
- if you prepare spells, you need to have a suitable CS prepared; if you cast spontaneously, you need to need to know a suitable CS (this is the most difficult issue of counterspelling)
- spell level, caster level, arcane/divine difference, and metamagic feats play NO direct part in counterspelling
- if you either fail the Spellcraft check or can't cast an appropriate CS, you can't counterspell S*

*you can however cast with your ready action a Dispel Magic (counters any spell, but success is not 100%), or otherwise cast anything else to force a Concentration check on the other caster
 

The question is, do you have to ready casting a "counterspell", or can you just ready casting a *spell*?

For instance, maybe I want to do an official counterspell . . . or maybe I just want to cast "Silence" spell instead. Or a magic missile to do some damage if my buddy just hit him the round earlier.

Anyone?
 

Forrester said:
The question is, do you have to ready casting a "counterspell", or can you just ready casting a *spell*?

For instance, maybe I want to do an official counterspell . . . or maybe I just want to cast "Silence" spell instead. Or a magic missile to do some damage if my buddy just hit him the round earlier.

Anyone?

A strict reading of the SRD, says that you must ready a 'Counterspell'.

SRD
If the target of the character's counterspell tries to cast a spell, make a Spellcraft check (DC 15 + the spell's level). This check is a free action. If the check succeeds, the character correctly identifies the opponent's spell and can attempt to counter it. (If the check fails, the character can't do either of these things.)

In general you cannot change your readied action when your trigger happens. So you could either ready a counterspell against someone or you could ready to cast Silence when someone starts casting a spell but not both.
 
Last edited:

Can't remember but with Dispel Magic as a counterspell do you have to declare that specifically (I think you do) or could it be used to counter spell X if your Spellcraft check tells you that you don't have spell X?

IceBear
 

IceBear said:
Can't remember but with Dispel Magic as a counterspell do you have to declare that specifically (I think you do) or could it be used to counter spell X if your Spellcraft check tells you that you don't have spell X?

Since you don't have to declare what spell you're using to counterspell, it shouldn't be a problem. So, if you start to counterspell but you don't have a fireball, you can just use Dispel Magic.
 

You ready an action "to counterspell." You can only counterspell with that action. You cannot change your mind and cast Magic Missile on the opponent, or do anything else except counterspell.

At the time of readying, you need not specify what you are counterspelling, or with which spell. When the action is triggered, you decide how and whether to counter. (If the Spellcraft check tells you that the opponent is casting Slow, you could counter it with Slow, Haste, or Dispel Magic. Or you could let it pass and decide not to counterspell at all.)
 

AuraSeer said:
You ready an action "to counterspell." You can only counterspell with that action. You cannot change your mind and cast Magic Missile on the opponent, or do anything else except counterspell.

At the time of readying, you need not specify what you are counterspelling, or with which spell. When the action is triggered, you decide how and whether to counter. (If the Spellcraft check tells you that the opponent is casting Slow, you could counter it with Slow, Haste, or Dispel Magic. Or you could let it pass and decide not to counterspell at all.)

Gotcha. It's never been used in my games so I'm fuzzy on those rules. Sounds good to me.

IceBear
 


I believe there is an Improved Counterspelling Feat out there somewhere (FR maybe?)

I can't remember the details but I think it allowed you to trade any spell from the same school, but one level higher, as the spell being countered.

IceBear
 

Remove ads

Top