Crafty question

marcielle

First Post
This is the situation:
I have Craft Wondrous Items and wish to craft a Druids Vestment for our Druid. We can collaborate to craft it, with him providing the prerequisites(wildshaping).
Do I still take the +5 penalty to craft it? If I don't where does it say so? My DM interprets the crafting rules as follows:
Making an item is easiest if you have access to all the skills and requirements you need, if you need help you start adding in difficulties since the other person may have other ideas on how to do it, or may just not understand what you want them to do.
Making an item is downright impossible without the prereqs.
Therefore, for every prereq you dont meet (this means for every prereq you need help with, using a wand/scroll to get the spell onto it doesn't fall under this) the DC shall increase due to a "too many cooks spoil the broth" effect. if you dont have and can't get access to a prereq, you can't make the item.
Is there anywhere I can get proof to the contrary? Like FAQ or custserv ruling? A word of god would be awesome. I am gonna need actual in print proof, not just 'this makes the most sense' proof.
The thing is this ruling affects me not at all but the rest of my party are quite new and I want to help them out( and believe me, they some of them need all the help they can get).
 

log in or register to remove this ad

It is possible for more than one character to cooperate in
the creation of an item, with each participant providing one
or more of the prerequisites. In some cases, cooperation may
even be necessary.
If two or more characters cooperate to create an item, they
must agree among themselves who will be considered the
creator for the purpose of determinations where the creator’s
level must be known.

page 461 of the core book is the closest I could find. I don't see why you should have to take a penalty.
I know you said you wanted something more concrete than this, but as far as I know this is really the only place where it talks about fulfilling prereq with other party members, but in the case of RPG game rules I usually have the approach say that 'absence of evidence IS evidence of absence', anything that he adds to the rules is a house-rule. Which is fine, he just has to admit that it is.
 
Last edited:

I also dont recall a specific penalty for involving multiple casters (other than predeterming who will be providing which spells) and might be able to Aid Another to provide a +2 on the crafting rolls.
 

When reading it after your DM's interpretation I can see where he can get that from reading it. I have had characters who crafted and players who crafted with me as the DM and read that multiple times. I never interpreted it that way before.

I interpreted it as if you don't meet the prereqs with the help or by yourself, the DC increases. I will search the Paizo boards for FAQ about it.

UPDATE: I found the FAQ on Magic item creation and it didn't have this issue mentioned in it.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top