I need an official ruling on divine spellbooks. This post deals with obscure rules, and has technical questions that probably infringe on the spirit of the rules. Please read and ponder, instead of flame.
I have a few questions. First, the relevant sections. (Player's Handbook 154-156)
P 156 Divine Spells, Spell Selection & Preparation Column 2, 2nd paragraph.
Divine spellcasters do not require spellbooks. However, a character's spell selection is limited to the spells on the list for his class... If a domain spell is not on the Cleric Spells List, it can only be prepared in a domain slot.
P 156 Divine Magical Writings
Divine spells can be written down and deciphered just as arcane spells can (see Arcane Magical Writings) Any character with the Spellcraft skill can attempt to decipher the divine magical writings and identify it. However, only characters who have the spell in question (in its divine form) on their class-based spell lists can cast a divine spell from a scroll.
P 156 New Divine Spells, 2nd Paragraph, Independent Research
The character also can research a spell indenpendently, much as an arcane spellcaster can... The character can create a magic scroll (provided he has the Scribe Scroll Feat) or write a special text similiar to a spellbook to contain spells he has independently researched. Other divine spellcasters who find the spell in written form can learn to cast it, provided they are of sufficient level to do so and are of the same class as the creator. The process requires deciphering the writing (see Arcane Magical Writings)
With this reference a few questions and obervations:
If a cleric wanted to learn a spell like Recitation from Defenders of the Faith, (assuming the spell was not considered on his/her base spell list), the cleric needs to find a magical writing of Recitation first.
1) Does the cleric then need to independantly research Recitation, or can he "write a special text similiar to a spellbook to contain spells"?
Following the rules under Arcane Magical Writings, it appears that it is very simple to add spells to a "divine spellbook". Following this line of reasoning for a moment:
2) How are domain spells of clerics treated with regards to a divine spellbook? Can a cleric technically research/copy into a divine spellbook other domain spells that he does not have from his domain choices? Furthermore, how are domain spells treated in general if a non-cleric divine caster wishes to add them to his list?
I see a few scenarios:
A) Open season, if its divine and of the "same class", you can copy it into a spellbook. This allows clerics to get domain spell access, and since they technically have added spells to their base list, they may prepare these spells in their base slots and not their domain slots.
B) Somewhat restricted. Clerics can get some domain spells besides their own, but must memorize them in their domain slots.
C) A cleric who copied her domain spells into a divine spellbook and then changed deities could still prepare the old domain spells from the spellbook.
D) A cleric, if given access to a non-domain only spell not normally on his/her class list, can put that spell into a divine spellbook, and prepare it without a spellbook.
E) Same as D, but only with a spellbook.
F) None of the above. Make up your own interpretation and go with it.
G) You sick fool, divine casters can't do anything except their own independent research. Nice try.
Thanks
I have a few questions. First, the relevant sections. (Player's Handbook 154-156)
P 156 Divine Spells, Spell Selection & Preparation Column 2, 2nd paragraph.
Divine spellcasters do not require spellbooks. However, a character's spell selection is limited to the spells on the list for his class... If a domain spell is not on the Cleric Spells List, it can only be prepared in a domain slot.
P 156 Divine Magical Writings
Divine spells can be written down and deciphered just as arcane spells can (see Arcane Magical Writings) Any character with the Spellcraft skill can attempt to decipher the divine magical writings and identify it. However, only characters who have the spell in question (in its divine form) on their class-based spell lists can cast a divine spell from a scroll.
P 156 New Divine Spells, 2nd Paragraph, Independent Research
The character also can research a spell indenpendently, much as an arcane spellcaster can... The character can create a magic scroll (provided he has the Scribe Scroll Feat) or write a special text similiar to a spellbook to contain spells he has independently researched. Other divine spellcasters who find the spell in written form can learn to cast it, provided they are of sufficient level to do so and are of the same class as the creator. The process requires deciphering the writing (see Arcane Magical Writings)
With this reference a few questions and obervations:
If a cleric wanted to learn a spell like Recitation from Defenders of the Faith, (assuming the spell was not considered on his/her base spell list), the cleric needs to find a magical writing of Recitation first.
1) Does the cleric then need to independantly research Recitation, or can he "write a special text similiar to a spellbook to contain spells"?
Following the rules under Arcane Magical Writings, it appears that it is very simple to add spells to a "divine spellbook". Following this line of reasoning for a moment:
2) How are domain spells of clerics treated with regards to a divine spellbook? Can a cleric technically research/copy into a divine spellbook other domain spells that he does not have from his domain choices? Furthermore, how are domain spells treated in general if a non-cleric divine caster wishes to add them to his list?
I see a few scenarios:
A) Open season, if its divine and of the "same class", you can copy it into a spellbook. This allows clerics to get domain spell access, and since they technically have added spells to their base list, they may prepare these spells in their base slots and not their domain slots.
B) Somewhat restricted. Clerics can get some domain spells besides their own, but must memorize them in their domain slots.
C) A cleric who copied her domain spells into a divine spellbook and then changed deities could still prepare the old domain spells from the spellbook.
D) A cleric, if given access to a non-domain only spell not normally on his/her class list, can put that spell into a divine spellbook, and prepare it without a spellbook.
E) Same as D, but only with a spellbook.
F) None of the above. Make up your own interpretation and go with it.
G) You sick fool, divine casters can't do anything except their own independent research. Nice try.
Thanks