D&D 3E/3.5 Creating Magical Items in 3.5

Junkheap

First Post
Ok, as far as i know in 3.0 and thats the way we played, the level requirements for making magical items were not really requirements but the base level for the magical item for determining saves. Does this apply in 3.5 as well. To better state it, in 3.0 you didn't have to be 17th level to make a pearl of power(1st level), but my dm claims that you have to meet the level requirements in 3.5 to make the item. He says that they didnt change the wording in 3.5 so its fact, unless errated or clarified. So by what he says, you have to be 17th lvl to make a POP.

Has this been clarified for his sake anywhere in 3.5 or have the other players and i gone crazy thinking that it was the same way as we played in 3.0?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Junkheap said:
Ok, as far as i know in 3.0 and thats the way we played, the level requirements for making magical items were not really requirements but the base level for the magical item for determining saves. Does this apply in 3.5 as well. To better state it, in 3.0 you didn't have to be 17th level to make a pearl of power(1st level), but my dm claims that you have to meet the level requirements in 3.5 to make the item. He says that they didnt change the wording in 3.5 so its fact, unless errated or clarified. So by what he says, you have to be 17th lvl to make a POP.

Has this been clarified for his sake anywhere in 3.5 or have the other players and i gone crazy thinking that it was the same way as we played in 3.0?

Technically it's a house rule, but in the games I play in, you have to be able to cast spells of a certain level to make pearls of power for that level. It seems like the requirements listed were only for the highest level pearl of power in the series. So, in our games, you would have to be 9th level to make pearls of power for 5th level spells.

I think pearls of power (limited only by character wealth) are horribly broken in the first place (and really cheapen the sorcerer), but that is an entirely different discussion. YMMV.
 
Last edited:

The rule has changed in 3.5e. It is written in P.215 of the 3.5e DMG under "Caster Level" entry. Now caster level written in each items entry is the minimum level for a caster to create that item. Live with it.
 

Junkheap said:
Ok, as far as i know in 3.0 and thats the way we played, the level requirements for making magical items were not really requirements but the base level for the magical item for determining saves. Does this apply in 3.5 as well. To better state it, in 3.0 you didn't have to be 17th level to make a pearl of power(1st level)...

Nothing has changed in the rulebook between 3.0 and 3.5. Both of them say this in the chapter on magic items:

Caster Level:... For potions, scrolls and wands, the creator can set the caster level of the item at any number high enough to cast the stored spell and not higher than her own caster level... For other magic items, the caster level is determined by the item itself. In this case, the creator's caster level must be as high as the item's caster level...

However, mass confusion has resulted because throughout 3.0-3.5 different designers have denied that this paragraph is actually sitting in the rulebooks. For example, Monte Cook has flip-flopped on the famous "pearl of power" issue, at one time saying it was not a requirement, later on saying it was. Sean K. Reynolds has asserted all along that it was a "mistake" that everyone knew about and would be errata'd shortly, but it never has been.

It's probably the most confusing issue in the whole core rules. Myself, I think it needs to get played by the book. Here's a web page tracking the history of the issue: www.superdan.net/dndfaq2.html
 

Shin Okada said:
The rule has changed in 3.5e. It is written in P.215 of the 3.5e DMG under "Caster Level" entry. Now caster level written in each items entry is the minimum level for a caster to create that item. Live with it.


It also states that in 3.0, so i dont know if you are trying to be smart. I was just asking whether it has been changed in 3.5 since the wording is pretty much the same, and as per dcollins this issue has been flipflopped many times(as all of us know who started with 3.0). I was asking if there has been a definite answer as to the above question. So if you dont have anything to add to the discussion other than just stating again what it says in the dmg, please do not bother to respond to this thread.

Btw thanx dcollins, i knew i wasn't going crazy. I just hoped they clarified the issue. This would change a lot of things in relation to power of the characters(IMO). I havent really looked at it thoroughly yet tho.

Korak: Thats a pretty good idea too, but i would rahter play with the way the designers meant for it to be played, although now i am not too sure what they intended. :confused:
 

The rulebook has always stated that caster level is a prerequisite. Thus, if you want to play by the rules, you'll make caster level a prerequisite.

Different designers have stated different things at different times, but I think the lack of erratta is a pretty definitive answer.
 

James McMurray said:
The rulebook has always stated that caster level is a prerequisite. Thus, if you want to play by the rules, you'll make caster level a prerequisite.

Different designers have stated different things at different times, but I think the lack of erratta is a pretty definitive answer.

I'd hafta agree here. Unless it's come out in an official errata, I go with what's in the DMG...
 

Making the caster levels a prerequisite is the stupidest idea in the world. It forces PCs to buy magic items rather than making them- considering you have to be 20th level to make Universal Solvent by those rules. If you happen to be one of the DMs that doesn't let their PCs buy magic items, well, they're screwed. All that loot you gave them is worthless, since there's no way they could spend 20,000 gp on completely mundane things.
 

UltimaGabe said:
Making the caster levels a prerequisite is the stupidest idea in the world. It forces PCs to buy magic items rather than making them-
Hmmm- I never really read the rules right then. Our group (three people- two players and DM) has always acepted that as soon as you qualify for the feat and can cast the spell, you can create items.

But we since changed that ruling too. We can craft things, but if we want to get a higher caster level, then we just hire NPC to cast it. So, technically, there isn't really a caster level requirement at all. All you need is a cool DM who will accept that your lvl 5 wiz has a lvl 35 wiz help him make a minor artifact.. :)
 

Making the caster levels a prerequisite is the stupidest idea in the world. It forces PCs to buy magic items rather than making them- considering you have to be 20th level to make Universal Solvent by those rules. If you happen to be one of the DMs that doesn't let their PCs buy magic items, well, they're screwed. All that loot you gave them is worthless, since there's no way they could spend 20,000 gp on completely mundane things.

Forcing PC's to buy items that they cannot create due to caster levels is a balance issue. I agree that some items have some ridiculous caster levels in relation to their usefulness, but on the average it works. Sometimes an item is too useful at lower levels, so its caster level is bumped to ensure that the character is spending an appropriate amount of wealth on the item.
 

Remove ads

Top