D&D 5E Creature immunity and secondary effects

Ovinomancer1981

First Post
Rules question:

So let's say you have a monster that has necrotic immunity and regeneration.

If you hit it with it with Chill Touch, will it still regenerate?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Is there any examples of this actually existing currently?

Personally, I'd go with "yes it works - the creature cannot regenerate", since the rule says "Immune to necrotic damage" not "immune to effects that stop it regaining hit points" (or words to that effect)
I am generally in favour of player action doing *something*

I could see a ruling by another DM that says the opposite to be entirely fine tbh.
 
Last edited:

No, it won't.

Damage immunity does not protect against anything but the listed type of damage, and the other effects of an attack such as chill touch's prevention of regaining hit points are not phrased as being reliant upon damage having been dealt to the target.

There is a tweet around somewhere that backs this up using vicious mockery as the example, but I'm having difficulty finding it right now to link.
 




Remove ads

Top